Rowers

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

March 2020: West Norfolk

Welcome to West Norfolk, a truly special place of unspoilt charm and natural beauty, where tranquillity and relaxation are the order of the day.

Set against ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Rowers Hotel, Gateshead

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Barrey on 26th August, 2009

Add your review
Good Points: Room was neat and clean. It was quite well set up with sufficient space and fair decor. Breakfast was adequate. Bad Points: No meal available when we arrived - although it was quite late and bar did not remain open long. Hotel location w industrial and not easy for touring people to find. Breakfast was restricted and not well organised. General review: The room was nice and the area quiet at night but hard to find a meal. Reasonable rate but not a good location to stay.

Date visited: 2009-08-26

Review by Elaine on 9th December, 2008

Add your review
Good Points: Friendly staff, lovely big bath, plenty of hot water, lovely breakfast, free parking. General review: Ideal for Metro Centre visitors. No problem getting a taxi at short notice. We enjoyed our stay. Value for money paid.

Date visited: 2008-12-09

Review by Russell Payne on 20th November, 2006

Add your review
As a regular traveller in the UK on business, I would NOT recomend this Hotel to any other person. I have never previously stayed at a hotel that has prompted me to make a formal complaint before. The Rowers Hotel is situated in the middle of an Industrial Estate. Each room is named after a ship that has been built on the Tyne, so they are themed to be Ships Cabins, Portholes for mirrors, Cabin Bed etc. #Double Room I was allocated was 7ft wide and 9ft long. #Bed was so soft I had to check the slats had not been removed that hold the matress up. #Bed sheet was ripped at the foot end. Duvet and Pillows were musky. #Overall the linen was faded and had seen better days. #Carpet was threadbare and holed in places of most traffic and looked and felt grubby. # Bedside Lamp was loose on wall and did not work #Window was broken, #Radio did not work, #TV had only 2 channels that were watchable. #Only two power sockets, neither on desk area #Kettle has to be boiled on floor to get a socket Bathroom, Generally looked clean, however only bath no shower, which was stained, the Hand Shower attachement on taps had a broken pipe that meant water sprayed everywhere. (Except on my body) Breakfast (Full English) was good quality, reasonable size, but the coffee was percolated and stewed. Please note this is not a rant, this is a genuine list of faults, hopefully the management will read this and respond to the problems and rectify them, I note that they state on the Web description that following recent refurbishment, I would be interested to know when this was done as I would guess some number of years ago. I had the opportunity to see a couple of other rooms whilst the maid was cleaning and none of the others looked any different. 20/11/06

Date visited: 15th November 2006

Review by Anonymous on 23rd August, 2006

Add your review
Good Points: I liked the unusual character of the decor and the nice touches like the kettle for tea on arrival. The shower was first class and easy to use. Many hotel showers need an instruction leaflet Bad Points: The noise of traffic in the early morning was the only thing I could have done without. General Review: I shall go back to the hotel again. The staff were friendly courteous and efficient both on arrival and at breakfast the next morning. The hotel also got good comment from the local taxi driver for its Sunday meal, proving the point that if you look after your guests they will come back and spread the good word.

Date visited: 2006-08-23

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Better not be at all than not be noble. - Alfred Lord Tennyson
More Quotes

On this day:
Battle of Roundway Down - 1643, White City Stadium Opens - 1908, Ruth Ellis Hanged - 1955, Live Aid - 1985
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages