It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Reviews of La Farola, East Grinstead

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Mrs Hallam on 13th February, 2012

Add your review
We visited this restaurant for a birthday meal. we were apprehensive after reading a bad review. However we were more than pleasantly surprised. The staff couldnt do enough for us and were very polite. The food was so good and steaks cooked to perfection.We will defianately be visiting this restaurant again.Thank you for a wonderful evening La Farola.

Date visited: 11/02/12

Review by Drew on 13th May, 2011

Add your review
This is the second time I've been here and it was just as bad the first time around, the staff where un-friendly rude and the waiter might as well have been wearing a mask as we where robbed!!!! Honestly it's worth driving further a field to get better quality Tapas!

Date visited: 12th may 2011

Review by jo on 3rd March, 2010

Add your review
I'd just like to respond to the person who said La Farola was a terrible restaurant and suggested Aldeia as an alternative. For your information, the menu is EXACTLY the same, the owners worked in La Farola for years... Both restaurants are excellent, high quality and have brilliant food! I highly recommend them!

Review by hedeline on 29th October, 2009

Add your review
I seriously do not understand the bad reviews taht have been written !! I go there all the time and I have nothing to complain about. The food is good( we never said it was Michelin standard,now did we !! ) and all t he staff is very nice and nowhere near rude !!! maybe people who do not like it should go out more often and experience a few places before saying horroble things like that !! I definitely recommend La Farola and will keep on doing so, so are all my friends and we are plenty thinking the same.

Date visited: 23 /10/09

Review by John petes on 28th September, 2009

Add your review
i was extreamly happy by the progress made by la arola over the past month and will definatly be visiting the restaurant again. i do however feel that the deli is full or portugese produce and not spanish but despite that the restaurant is now a more welcoming place to have a meal i would definatly recommend it sevice 4/5 and food 4/5

Date visited: 26-09-09

Review by Jon Stevens on 20th September, 2009

Add your review
The comments here regarding staff being obnoxious are 100% accurate. This 'family' has absolutely NO IDEA about how to make a dining experience pleasurable for PAYING customers. The worst staff I've experienced in a long time. Average food / nothing creative on the menu (I bet it hasn't been changed in years). Broken crockery. Little ambience. Overpriced. How does this place survive? Why aren't the residents of East Grinstead more discerning? Heaven help us... another utterly awful restaurant in the UK. Will I be returning? Are you kidding?!

Date visited: 19th September 2009

Review by Anon on 8th June, 2009

Add your review
The Staff There Can Be Extremely Rude And For A Family Run Business It Seems As If They Dont Like Children ,, the food is nice however can sometimes be a little standard service is fast 3/5

Date visited: all the time

Review by Simon Salmond on 29th December, 2008

Add your review
The comment by the previous reviewer about the Staff being surly and rude is spot on. The food is fairly standard. One can't help feeling that they've gotten a bit too big for their boots. Aldeia Restaurant in Forest Row is leagues ahead in terms of standards and service - go there instead. There's a credit crunch on, don't waste your money.

Date visited: 27 Nov 2008

Review by Sue Miller on 25th November, 2007

Add your review
I have been visiting La Farola for the last 18 years. The food is always fantasic, excellent portions and very reasonable. It is a family run restaurant and the staff are very friendly and always provide a excellent service. There is always a fibrant ambience and I always feel like I am in Spain for the evening.You can't go wrong if you are looking for excellent quality in a relaxed informal atmosphere. Do ensure you book to avoid disappointment

Date visited: 24/11/2007

Review by Dissapointed on 22nd November, 2007

Add your review
Find the staff surly and rude, the food just about average - our first visit. Gave it a second chance but found the experience similar. If you book as couple for a Fri / Sat night in the Tapas bar be prepared to be placed near the toilets packed in like sardines next to the only toilet door entrance with the enevitable queue of budgie bladders parading besdie your table for their turn at the heads. Incidently sat here you will also have to put up with the smell of amonia and other pungent toilet smells. Enjoy your Tapas. Requests to be reseated at an alternative table are acknowledged but ignored. Wont be going back and would NEVER recommend - twice bitten.

Date visited: twice

Review by Nina Smith on 8th September, 2007

Add your review
La Farola is one of the nicest and most proffesional restauarants I have eaten at in a long long time. The staff are friendly and polite and you really get a sense of Spanish influence on family. There is a delightful young waiter there that is called Seve. And every time I go there, he always opens the door and greets with a smile and asks how everything is. It is people like that, that make the La Farola a friendly and cheerful place to go for a meal or just a quick drink at the bar. So finally I wish to say Viva Espana! and Viva La Farola!

Review by Wal Huntington on 22nd May, 2007

Add your review
La Farola is a spanish restaurant run by the Figueira family from Galicia, Northwestern Spain. It was founded by Jose Figueira and started off as a small sandwich bar. Over the past 20 years or so, La Farola has grown into a highly popular restaurant with friendly staff, good food and drink with reasonable prices. Despite its growth as a franchise, La Farola still retains its family values and is currently under the management of Jose's younger brother Manuel. If you prefer a more relaxed atmosphere, then you can always go to the Tapas bar side of the La Farola , I reccomened the octopus and the serrano ham. This establishment is very popular with the locals and as a result it is important to book if you would like a table at the weekend. Its nicely situated with the the town centre a short walk away.

Date visited: Every saturday evening

Review by Steve Knight on 30th April, 2006

Add your review
La Farola is a genuine Spanish restaurant run by a Spanish family from Galicia in Northern Spain. The restaurant is split into a tapas bar on one side and a restaurant on the other. The tapas bar offers a wealth of freshly prepared hot and cold dishes and I can highly recommend the deep fried baby squid with garlic mayonnaise. For those of a less adventurous nature there are a vast array of dishes including salads, olives, serrano ham and the excellent Albondigas (Spanish meatballs cooked in a spicy tomato sauce)and all at very reasonable prices. For more formal dining there is the resaraunt side offering a good selection of fish dishes as well as home butchered beef and lamb dishes. Personally I'm a fan of the more relaxed Tapas bar but the restaurant is perfect for a cosy meal for two. La farola is spacious and tastefully decorated and is a popular spot with the locals (so remember to book if you want a table at the weekend) There is a good selection of regional wines with some very tasty Riojas (my personal favourites) served by welcoming friendly staff. As this is a family run restaurant the staff go out of their way to make your meal a real experience, giving an outstanding level of service sadly lacking in the large corporate chains that seem to be sweeping the country. As you can probably guess I am a big fan and am looking forward to celebrating my 40th birthday there very soon.

Date visited: 31/12/05

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
An intellectual is a person who's found one thing that's more interesting than sex. - Aldous Huxley
More Quotes

On this day:
Magna Carta Signed - 1215, The Peasants' Revolt ends - 1381, First Botanic Garden in Britain - 1621, Alcock and Brown complete 1st non stop flight across the Atlantic - 1919
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages