It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Reviews of Pledwick Well Inn, Wakefield

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by mark hemingway on 21st March, 2014

Add your review
Very disappointing meal scampi was fish bites mushy peas tinned ones chips home cooked onion rings nice desert nice need to improve if they want people to return

Date visited: 21march2013

Review by Andrew Stott on 22nd April, 2012

Add your review
Where do I start with this wonderful place this is the second time we have been this year and I cannot say enough good comments about it firstly the interior is class! The service is fantastic! The prices (in my opinion) are very reasonable the food was lovely. A perfect evening really and will definatly be going again very soon. I have praised this place to lots of friends, family and work colleagues as I think so highly of the place well done keep up the good work!!!

Date visited: 20 April 2012

Review by Malcolm Russell on 30th March, 2011

Add your review
Disappointed with Al a Carte menu.Also to find later that others on early bird were having much cheaper meals & 25% discounts.If your're going to charge twice as much then the meals choice should be much better

Date visited: 29/3/11

Review by Elgan on 20th March, 2011

Add your review
Just a quick note in response to Val's previous message, from the restaurant manager at the Pledwick Bar and Restaurant. Unfortunately due to all our food being freshly made, time is a challenge. There is nothing more that we would like than being able to supply a 3 course option at lunch time. However, all our dishes take a lot of time and care to prepare so unfortunately due to this preparation time we cannot guarantee to have the full menu ready for 12 o'clock on a daily basis. This is why we opted for a simpler menu on a lunch time, which has been generally well received. However, the customer's needs come first at the Pledwick and if we have the food prepared, there is no reason why the early doors menu, (usually served Mon - Sat 5-7) can not be ordered. As our chef has come from a prestigious restaurant, well known for its food, he has standards that are sky high, so rushing anything is a no go. Many thanks for your custom and your comments, I hope we will see you again soon.

Review by val on 26th February, 2011

Add your review
We visited today and lunch menu was disappointing. all jumbled ou no starter main and pudding We asked re desserts and were told not usual to offer at lunch time. but waiter said they had apple crumble,sticky toffee pudding,ice cream, Now if the Chef as worked at Anthonys, Anthonys are renowned for desserts they were not.A very disappointing meal.

Date visited: 26/02/2011

Review by Paul on 10th February, 2011

Add your review
Having had lunch at the newly refurbished pledwick well bar and resteraunt I feel i must leave my opinion as this may be helpfull to both owners and customers.Lovely welcoming atmosphere, nice decor vast improvement from the old. Staff very friendly and accomodating.Food is excelent, cooked and prepared freshly,very well presented, price of both food and drink is good and inline with all the other such venues.The only downside I feel must be high-light is that this venue is 'not' disabled friendly.As a newly refurbished venue there is no wheel-chair access infact there are steps into the building, from the bar area to the dining area steps again no hand rail,the toilets are down a large flight of stairs and there is no disabled toilet, a member of staff did offer to move a seating area so i could get access to the cleaning cupboard which also housed the old male toilet cubicle, but would need cleaning first, and would not be suitable for anyone with greater disabilities than myself ie needing more space for a wheelchair or such. I hope the owners take notice of this as they have put alot into revamping this venue, and could miss out on alot of valuable custom, which would be such a shame. Also alot of lunchtime diners are in the older years and not over sure footed, having to go down a large flight of stairs to go to the toilet would be off putting to those customers too.

Date visited: 10/2/2011

Review by Deborah on 25th January, 2011

Add your review
My daughter and I enjoyed a relaxed lunch today in the Pledwick Bar & Restaurant. Taken over some months ago the new owners have transformed it totally. Staff friendly, tentative; provide each customer with good service, nothing is too much trouble! The foods creative, very fresh, hand made, presented with great care. No compromises. Well worth a visit and we will be regular customers!

Date visited: 25th January 2011

Review by John on 9th January, 2011

Add your review
Our first visit since reopening. The atmosphere was good. A pleasent mixture of both eating and non-eating guests. The ratio of bar/eating space is not quite right. The decor is very good and the staff are attentive. Oddly the Christmas meal was still on view in the menu? The food was most enjoyable, the choices were limited which could be said to be to its credit. One of the replacement starters was rather simple and did repeat well into the night. Sensibly priced wine and a good Yorkshire beer with a promise of more micro varieties to come. The real downer was minor,it concerned the well used practice of charging extra for poor quality unimaginative vegetables.

Date visited: Sat. 8th Jan 2011

Review by chris on 7th December, 2010

Add your review
i just wanted to write a response to the the gentleman below. who must of been mistaken. we have been closed for the 3 mounths. and havn't served since july. this resturant also has nothing to do with capri as we are now under new managment and new ownership. we also have re-structured and re-decored, the entrie premesis. all previous staff are no longer with us. our new head chef is an antonys chef and also been brought up and tought in many rossette kitchens. the prices from previous ownership have gone down. in price and i can only agree that previously it was overpriced. however i would like anybody who has had a bad experiance at the pledwick in past years to come back down on the 14th of december as that is our re opening date. and i will more than happy to whoever wants to question our standards to come on down and i will personaly show them into our kitchens, and prove what high standards we will be working at.

Date visited: 02/12/10

Review by Will on 4th August, 2010

Add your review
Quite possibly the worst and most overpriced 'restaurant' I've ever visited. Utterly vile, if there was a way of giving this place minus points I would. More than half the menu seemed to be unavailable, and what did arrive was not quite what was ordered. The cutlery and glasses were dirty and had to be changed a number of times. The ingredients used appear to have been selected (at least a week prior to their use) from the bargain bins of iceland. Nasty deep fried onion rings, overcooked chips, fatty steaks and so on. A 'Greek Salad' costing nearly £9 consisted of a cheap bag of salad leaves that had clearly been open for a day of so, just long enough for the shredded beetroot to completely dry out. Crouton's were served oozing some kind of nondescript grease. The feta was tasteless and when we asked for some dressing to help the dried out leaves slip down we were served a pot of oil that was clearly from the jar the mediocre olives had been bought in. If the food was cheap it would still have been terrible, but at nearly £9 for a salad and £19 for a Barnsley chop you expect decent food; what they delivered was little more than insulting. The service was initially with a smile but completely inept. When it came time to pay we were told that they didn't yet have a card machine and that they would write down our credit card details and charge the card at a later date, and from a different restaurant, apparently Capri Restaurant in Horbury. Seemingly unaware of recent efforts to combat fraud through the use of chip and pin systems, the shift manager seemed confused that we didn't think leaving our card details was such a good idea, . When I suggested that it might be a good idea to point out the lack of credit card facilities to customers before a meal was eaten, the response was a agitative silence and a threatening stare, as if I had just insulted the ladies' mother. Apparently the Pledwick had recently been taken over by Capri Restraunt, which left me wondering if they get away with serving up the same slop with such ghastly service. Just before leaving, somewhat daunted by the whole experience, I noticed the defaced chalk boards around the dining area. 'Pledwick Inn', altered no doubt by some other dissatisfied customer to '___d_ick Inn', where 'All our food is cocked fresh'! Avoid this place like the plague.

Date visited: 23rd July 2010

Review by kathryn on 17th November, 2009

Add your review
This pub has definately seen an improvement since the new management have taken over. Te food and drink was fantastic and freshly prepared. The atmosphere is comfortable and welcoming. I will definately be a regular customer!!!

Date visited: 12.11.2009

Review by Paul Beckett on 9th November, 2009

Add your review
What a great place. The new land lady is proffesional, polite and customer focused. I wish you all the best in your new venture and keep up the good work. Good food, pleasant atmosphere, nice cosy pub, what else would anyone want

Date visited: 9th Nov 09

Review by rebecca h on 11th October, 2009

Add your review
The newly refurbished pub/restaurant looks clean & modern. As for the atmosphere, it's quite boring! The starters took too long and the salad wasn't fresh. The main meals were nice enough, but I think there's definatly room for improvement!

Date visited: 11/10/09

Review by Mrs. C. Fountain on 5th October, 2009

Add your review
What a lovely evening I had with two of my friends. we had not booked and the staff managed to find a table for us. The room was small but vey nicley decorated. The waitress came and took our order for drinks and was very pleasant. I ordered the yorkshire pudding for starter and may I say the gravy was delicious. I then had the house pie which was mince & onion and chips, this came and was very hot and very tasty everything cooked to perfection. we retired to the lounge bar and a great eveing was had by all. I intend to recommend the Pledwick to all my friends.

Date visited: 2nd October 2009

Review by Jilly Lowe on 22nd September, 2009

Add your review
Went to eat here on the 21st September with my husband. We was greeted by bar staff who said "You can sit where you want, there is plenty of tables" so left to make our own way to a table. There was only a couple of more tables in so this was quite an unexpected greeting. As we were a party for two, we went to sit at a table for two and found the table to be dirty as the previous party had just left. The waitress appologised and cleared the table but if we had been taken to a table initially, this hopefully wouldnt have happened. We were brought (plastic card) menus to read and offered a drink. The wine wasnt fantastic but drinkable. We both thought that the steaks were quite expensive, a 10oz Sirloin was £13.95 and a 8oz Fillet was £18.95, however as they called themselves a steakhouse we thought that it should be good. My husband said we would push the boat out as it was the last day of our holidays. I ordered the 10oz sirloin with home made chips and my husband ordered the fish and chips. We waited just an average amount of time for the food to arrive and my initial thought was when they put my husbands fish and chips down was that the chips looked so overcooked. They were nearly black! His fish looked far from freshly cooked, it looked murdered! They put my steak down, which was served with withered looking mushrooms, garden peas and a fancy looking tomato. My chips were brough seperate in a bowl, and they too were overcooked. I always ask for my steak cooked medium rare, and hardly any restaurant can cook a medium rare steak. They always murder it!! This was no exception, exept it wasnt murdered but it was bordering on medium to well done. I never like to send my food back because it just spoils the vening, so I just eat the food and never go back. The mushrooms were very dry as if they were cooked and then left under lights. The peas were pale as if they had just been left in water. My husbands fish had skin on it. There is no excuse for any restaurant to be serving fish with skin. This is just lazy on the chefs part. It wasnt as if they were doing much as the chef spent half of the night chatting to the bar staff!! My husband has been a chef in some of Wakefields bast hotels for over 10 years and said the fish tasted like it had been defrosted in water so it tasted mushy. I asked for another drink and the waitress pickup up my not empty glass of wine!! I think she was going to just top up my glass!! I asked for a fresh glass All in all a poor experience at this newly furbished restaurant and one that my husband and I will not be repeating. I suggest that if you have got plenty of money to spare on a night out, find somewhere else

Date visited: 21.09.09

Review by Alex Durran on 15th February, 2008

Add your review
Hi, (15/04/2008) It’s 30 minutes after finishing a meal at The Pledwick Well……..WELL??…far from it…. We are local to the area and we were tempted by the £5 off vouchers pushed through our door over the Christmas period. What a mistake to make…. We were the ONLY people in the restaurant during the hour we were there (and when we left we noticed nobody was in the bar either – so glad we didn’t stay for the advertised pub quiz night) – but I suppose we would have won!! We did point out to the waitress the problems we had with the meals – the scampi was more coating than scampi tail and the chips whilst apparently not out of the freezer where burnt – not well done – burnt!!! And the special of the day – pan fried duck – was tough and the skin was soggy – the one delivered bowl of veg for “two”?? was small – the green beans were wrinkled and hard and we are still debating if the cubes accompanying them were carrot or swede or to be fair maybe both – there were colours of orange and yellow??? The feedback from the chef was “he would try and do something about it!”…..neither my wife and I or the waitress really knew what that meant – there were no offers of a future meal on the house in order to show they could do better!! Such a shame – a great area, a large car park and other restaurants not far away are making a good go at getting a name for themselves out of good food cooked well. 3 Houses and the Red Kite spring to mind. Sorry but we are never going back and I will be telling our local friends to avoid The Pledwick Well.

Date visited: 15/02/2008

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
They talk of a man betraying his country, his friends, his sweetheart. There must be a moral bond first. All a man can betray is his conscience. - Joseph Conrad
More Quotes

On this day:
Oxford University Chartered - 1214, First Municipal Fire Brigade Forms - 1726, 1st Paddleship steamer crosses Atlantic - 1819, Death of William IV - Victoria becomes Queen - 1837
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages