Ruthin

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Reviews of Ruthin Castle Hotel, Ruthin

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Shelagh, Newcastle upon TYne on 30th August, 2006

Add your review
Good Points: Our accommodation was comfortable and had an excellent outlook over the fields. We really enjoyed our stay. Bad Points: There was little to dislike, although the hair dryer did not work, and it seemed that some maintenance (probably unknown to the staff) was needed at the external gutter, which showed signs of leakage. These are both very minor quibbles! General Review: We enjoyed a really good long weekend break, on our way to a continuing holiday in Snowdonia. We much preferred the 'antique' character of Ruthin Castle to the rather more impersonal style of most modern hotels. The latter are virtually the same wherever in the world they are sited. Ruthin Castle is unique, and very much part of its locality. We found the staff all to be very welcoming and helpful. They were friendly and one could engage in civilised conversation with them. This also contrasted with the staff in many hotels of an 'international style', where staff can sometimes be patronising or unnecessarily ingratiating. Ruthin Castle has much to reccommend it, and we would stay there again if in the area.

Date visited: 2006-08-30

Review by David, cardiff on 5th June, 2006

Add your review
Good Points: Beautiful old castle in a good location. Bad Points: Some parts of the hotel are a bit tired. General Review: An elegant location for touring lovely North Wales. The refurbished rooms are a high standard but those still waiting a refit and some of the public areas are a bit grotty. Ruthin is small but perfectly formed and the hotel is in the heart of the town.

Date visited: 2006-06-05

Review by Julie, Halifax on 2nd May, 2006

Add your review
Good Points: The room was spacious and clean. The overall accomodation was great, close to the centre of Ruthin. The food was really good too. Bad Points: Peacocks were a bit noisy - but a pleasure to look at. General Review: We found our room to be spacious and clean, with a very comfy bed! The room was very warm though and the air-con didn't seem to do much. The location was great, within walking distance of the centre of Ruthin. The peacocks were a bit noisy but nice to look at. The food we had was really nice and we would definitely go back again.

Date visited: 2006-05-02

Review by Mr Mahoney on 1st July, 2005

Add your review
This is a fantastic setting for a wedding, with a little more work it could be stunning. The rooms bed rooms are functional not luxury, but this is an ancient castle. All the main rooms add to the occasion. The hotel service staff are credit and can not help enough especially the bar staff. The food is excellent even when catering for over 80. I do have one negative comment, the some of the front of house staff and the wedding coordinator are very disorganised and have poor organisational abilities.

Date visited: June 2005

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
'May my last breath be drawn from a pipe and exhaled in a pun' - Charles Lamb
More Quotes

On this day:
Battle of Stoke Field - 1487, America declares war on Britain - 1812, RSPCA formed - 1824, Sunderland Theatre Disaster - 1883
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages