It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Reviews of Ship & Anchor Marina, Ford

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Jack on 17th April, 2012

Add your review
This camp site was once a nice place to visit,campers were happy to have a game of pool in the pub but the pool table has gone how about a game of darts I said to my mate but the dart board had gone also no juke box no live music no fun.I have been to this site many times but this time did not see one of the friends that I had made before a group of about 8 people that had been great fun on my last couple of visits and helped me with my tent and also had a look at my car when i had a problem with it .I Had been told that a lot of people had gone to another local pub I only wish that i had been told how to find it . The staff in this pub and the rude lady that owns the site all need to get a life,For one thing it would help if the pub was open and when it is open they need to remember thats its a pub. Ps Please Re Vamp your showesr the money you charge now iam sure you can afford to at least that.

Date visited: sept 2011

Review by Rachel Wilson on 14th August, 2011

Add your review
Really, don't go to this site. All it has to offer is a flat place to pitch your tent. There are no marked pitches - after rigging our tents several of our party went to the pub and were enjoying a pleasant meal when interrupted by a frantic phone call from our friend. The owner of the campsite had marched over to our area and harangued everyone for 'pitching in the wrong place', and flat out denied that we hadn't been told where to pitch. The young lad who checked us all in said 'go anywhere you like, just not the electric hookups as those are for caravans'. The woman owner then shouted that we were a 'bunch of idiots' and other abuse and that we had to move our tents immediately. Even after our friend said that we'd move, she carried on hurling insults for several minutes. Really, I have never heard of such behaviour from a proprietor - this woman should be ashamed. Particularly as there was a child in our party who was also very upset hearing all this. There is just ONE toilet block for the whole campsite, and only 2 showers in the women's section, for which there is a 50p charge for 10 minutes - appalling. The toilets had not had a thorough clean - probably a quick wipe round but there were plenty of cobwebs and they were in desperate need of a good bleach and scrub. There are hairdryers but these are also chargeable. Plus, the toilets are LOCKED 24/7, you have to get a combination code to access them. Not at all sure what the point of that is, the site is buried deep in a village in the middle of nowhere! Why this campsite hasn't gone out of business is a complete mystery to me. They clearly loathe children, and pretty much all their customers. Shocking.

Date visited: 13th August 2011

Review by Barry Woolsey on 26th May, 2011

Add your review
If i tell the truth about this site it will always be full !!!! Now we have found this really great place we will spend many weekends here. Perfect location and a great pub on site.

Date visited: 20/05/11

Review by sue john on 24th May, 2011

Add your review
After going to the site for a few years. We think the site is very nice and well keeped neat and tidy..toilet block needs update but its clean and with Hot water.helen is friendly and helpful.ALL sites need rules so campers know what is allowed on site to keep everybody Happy ./////

Date visited: april 2011

Review by Rosalie Scales on 15th May, 2011

Add your review
We have been camping at this site for at least 7 years. We were very pleased to find new people running the pub and enjoyed a very good sandwich/salad lunch there. A bit pricey but good quality so worth it. Hope to sample an evening meal on our next visit later on in the year. It is so handy to have good food available on site - not so in recent years! We like the peace and tranquility of the site (off-peak), lovely walks along the riverbank to Arundel. We have always found Helen amiable and helpful, and the site well maintained. Toilet block quite dated but clean - if up-dated would be the icing on the cake!

Date visited: 11.05.11

Review by Michael Smith on 11th December, 2010

Add your review
I am sorry to read all of the negative reviews of this campsite. My grandparents the Forresters Started this campsite back in the 1960's when it was just a store with a thatched roof, no marina, just a diving board where we would swim in the river Arun. I would help in the store and collect the trash in the fields. I went back in 1993 for a visit and everything had changed, the marina replaced the diving board, slate tiles on the roof instead of being thatched, coy pond out front had been cemented over and now there was a bar. Everyone was very friendly and willing to make sure your stay was the best. From what I have read its far from that and I am very disheartened as this place has a lot of history. To the owners of this campsite, listen to what your customers are saying and then do it or they will be gone and so will this campsite.

Date visited: Aug. 1993

Review by Graham & Marie & Dog on 18th August, 2010

Add your review
We spent 9 nights at this site. The comments made are totally unfair. The site is kept in excellent condition. Yes Helen does have strict rules but surely this is for the benefit of all who stay,at the end of the day she has a business to run. Helen always made the effort to chat and we found her very friendly and helpful. I agree the toilet block could do with a face lift and showers should be free but at no time did we have any reason for complaint regarding the cleanliness,the toilets were cleaned everyday during our stay. The pitches were very spacious. I suggest people try other sites where you pitch your tent on slopes,stones etc,pay in excess of 20 per night,extra for electric,up to 8 extra for a gazebo,1.50 for your dog. Pub sold excellent real ale, must admit never ate at the pub therefore cannot comment on food. Overall an excellent well kept disiplined site would recommend anytime.By far the best site in the area. We intend to return

Date visited: 9th July 2010

Review by Graham & Marie & Dog on 18th August, 2010

Add your review
We spent 9 nights at this site. The comments made are totally unfair. The site is kept in excellent condition. Yes Helen does have strict rules but surely this is for the benefit of all who stay,at the end of the day she has a business to run. Helen always made the effort to chat and we found her very friendly and helpful. I agree the toilet block could do with a face lift and showers should be free but at no time did we have any reason for complaint regarding the cleanliness,the toilets were cleaned everyday during our stay. The pitches were very spacious. I suggest people try other sites where you pitch your tent on slopes,stones etc,pay in excess of 20 per night,extra for electric,up to 8 extra for a gazebo,1.50 for your dog. Pub sold excellent real ale, must admit never ate at the pub therefore cannot comment on food. Overall an excellent well kept disiplined site would recommend anytime.By far the best site in the area. We intend to return

Date visited: 9th July 2010

Review by Handyman1 on 17th June, 2010

Add your review
After many years of coming to the site as a child, decided to bring our children and various friends along for some weekends over the past couple of years. Never again..... Booking was easy, the post-booking debrief as to our "motives" on the telephone was frankly rude - this was before we even got there. When on site we felt constantly under surveillance and subtle comments always being made about our behaviour, etc. We are all professional people, responsible and meticulous about our children's behaviour, clearing up, etc. etc. We spent a good part of the last trip stopping other children fighting in the play area - we were the ones criticised for stopping a group of kids throwing missiles at smaller children... The young girls in the shop were terrified to say anything - "we might get in trouble". Was a bit creepy to be honest. One of our wives gently questioned the owner about her "issues" with us and she was made quite clear that we were not welcome. Unbelievable! Anyway, we are now spending money with the Pevensey site who are ALWAYS welcoming. Oh, and the showers are clean and free.... Obviously the owners at Ford have too much money to need our regular custom anymore.... ENJOY!

Date visited: May 28th

Review by tom on 17th August, 2009

Add your review
What a brilliant campsite,The pub food and beer was first class,(new landlord as I understand) lovely location but the visit was ruined by the owner of the site,Miserable,petty,small minded woman who could do with some lessons in politeness! I will not be visiting again which is a real shame!

Date visited: 14/8/2009

Review by Julie on 16th August, 2009

Add your review
This site has got worse and worse over the past 2 years. The shower/toilets etc facilities are disgustingly filthy dirty and in my opinion & plenty others should be knocked down & rebuilt. The awful woman () that runs & owns this whole site appears to be only bothered on making money & not spending it. She is very rude & OBNOXIOUS, and views the customers as an inconvenience. She should remember without customers she would not be making money (she growls at you like your school children). This is not a family friendly site as you are not allowed visitors even your own family!!! There were plenty of health & safety issues, the main one being the gates locked from 21.00 - 08.00 so no emergency vehicle could access if needed at these times. The fire precautions are so dated that its laughable. I advise you to spend your money elsewhere!!! STEER CLEAR.

Date visited: 14th August 2009

Review by derek on 3rd August, 2009

Add your review
very disappointing and i wish i had read these reviews before we went. Sorry but I have to agree, it does seem to be run for profit and not much other consideration. Was made to feel like everything asked for was a chore rather than feeling like a customer who wants a great time was made to feel like an inconvenience. Nor particularly a clean place and bar sevice was slow and indifferent. certainly has potential but attitude by staff seems more in keeping with a busy london wine bar. Not what I woul dconsider warm and friendly at all. Sorry !

Date visited: July 2009

Review by rose on 5th May, 2008

Add your review
replying to some of the reviews sent about the pub we would just like to say all our meat is fresh from the butchers and have no complaints about our beersif this was so then we wouldnt be in the good beer guide book, as for the camp site there is a childrens play area and you do have to have some rules

Date visited: 3years

Review by Martin on 17th September, 2007

Add your review
This was our 4th or 5th visit to the site. Plus points are location for Arundel and Littlehampton and for the River. Minus sides...Lots!! Firstly, check to ensure that there are no engineering works on the railway. The trains do not disturb too much, the night time works do! The sites seems to have got progressively worse over the last three years. With this visit (our last), the toilets were smelly and dirty with signs that they had not been cleaned properly for days. The lady that runs it, rather abbrupt and not happy with children. And now the pub...what a lovely pub it could be. However, the landlord is frankly rude and his beer rubbish. For the first time ever, I returned a lager as it was flat and tasted like it had been in the pipes for hours. He was obviously agitated about the complaint, refused to change it and told me he had been serving it all day with no complaints (note, he did not try it). I had to BUY another pint (bitter this time that came in a dirty glass). The only plus point of the pub was the clean toilets. A breath of fresh air compared to the campsite. However, save your money and your dignity and steer clear of this pub. Oh and the food was at the low end of cheap frozen pub grub. Nasty.

Date visited: 15/09/2007

Review by Matt Lawson on 2nd July, 2007

Add your review
Took my family for lunch,ordered a meal,to find the staff absolutely useless ,and the quality of their food wasnt edible for my dog!!!!Wouldnt advise anyone in there right mind to stop and stay,unless they are shut!1

Date visited: 0107/2007

Review by dawn gunner on 6th August, 2006

Add your review
On arrival at campsite all seemed well, a gormless bloke on reception told us where to pitch our tents, after the lengthy process of erecting and setting up a misrable old woman suddenly appeared and ordered us to move our tents because she was the boss with 6 meters between tents. The following day we arrived back at the campsite only to find the campsite bursting at the seams and definently not 6 meters between tents. Campsite full of very rowdy young men who played football at 0115hrs in the morning under car headlamps although it quite clearly states no noise after 10.30pm. THE BOSS was tucked up in bed away from the campsite clearly not bothered as long as the money was rolling in. Quite clearly there was a health and safety issue with the tents being so close together and people having BBQs. No play areas for children, showers 50p for 10mins. Would not reccommend this site to people wanting a quiet break without swearing and drunk campers. Pub was fine very friendly and the food had good variety and very tasty.

Date visited: 04/08/2006

Review by t collins on 10th July, 2006

Add your review
site is clean only 2 showers for women 3 for men which did not all work no hot water.Pub onsite not friendly or cheap.The lady who runs site one big pain ,on checking ask to turn car radieo of as no music allowed on site tent next to us told of for children making to much nouse.I would not visit this site again and would not reccommend unless you were a nun.

Date visited: 07/07/06

Review by Barbara Williams on 20th June, 2006

Add your review
Just returned from the site and was extremely pleased. The site is very clean and the owner is very aware of the site which keeps the site safe for children and owners of tents and caravans. I will use it again next time with my grandchildren.

Date visited: 16 to 19 june 2006

Review by Simon Raints on 7th August, 2005

Add your review
Nice site in a quiet location next to the river Arun. The site is well run (under the ever watchful eye of Helen, the owner) and we saw no evidence of bad or rowdy behaviour during our stay. The facilities are basic but clean, with an on-site shop stocking all those little things you tend to forget or need when going on holiday. The pub on the site provides excellent food which is good value, which is more than can be said for the beer prices, but you can't have everything. All in all, one of the cheaper but better sites in the area. Recommended.

Date visited: 21/07/2005

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
We are stripped bare by the curse of plenty. - Winston Churchill
More Quotes

On this day:
Battle of Stoke Field - 1487, America declares war on Britain - 1812, RSPCA formed - 1824, Sunderland Theatre Disaster - 1883
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages