Portland

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Reviews of Portland Hotel, Buxton

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Anonymous on 28th October, 2008

Add your review
Good Points: nice location-hard working staff Bad Points: room needs attention...door handle fell off General review: Pleasant-slightly faded interior

Date visited: 2008-10-28

Review by Anonymous on 14th May, 2008

Add your review
Good Points: Set in nice surroundings and efficiency of staff. Not imposing but available if needed. Bad Points: The room was very nice but the main road outside was a little noisey. General review: Overall a very nice hotel. The rooms that have been rejuvinated are fantastic, although our shower room left a little to be desired. The breakfast was excellent and the overall helpfulness and efficiency of the staff was very good. It is a hotel that I would recommend.

Date visited: 2008-05-14

Review by M Hodgson on 3rd September, 2007

Add your review
This hotel is "very tired" - Window frames rotten, decor poor, gutters full of grass and the price does NOT reflect this at all

Date visited: 01.09.07

Review by c.mcleavey on 9th September, 2006

Add your review
I VISITED THE HOTEL OFTEN WITH FRIENDS AND ALTHOUGH I LIVE IN NOTTINGHAM I WOULD LIKE TO CONSIDER IT MY LOCAL.WE HAD SOME GREAT WEEKENDS THERE THE STAFF WERE LIVELY AND NEVER TIRED.THERE WERE NEVER ANY COMPLAINTS ABOUT ANYTHING ACCEPT HAVING TO RETURN TO NOTTINGHAM ON THE SUNDAY.THE HOTEL IS NO LONGER THERE SADLY DUE TO A FIRE ACCIDENT.IT IS MISSED BY MYSELF AND ALL OF MY FRIENDS WHO VISITED.P.S D.HART THE SCAFFHOLDING WAS THERE FOR A REASON YOU SHITE!!!

Review by Keith Gill on 11th June, 2006

Add your review
Oh dear Rooms tired, staff tired. Returned 10.30pm Saturday enening to find total lock down. Enquired about the availability of a drink for our party of four to be directed along the road to another establishment. Turns out they did rooms. Enough said.

Review by D.Hart on 6th July, 2005

Add your review
This hotel is well past it's sell by date. On 3rd July 2005 there was scaffolding completely covering the front of the building. Rooms drab and old fashioned. Beds uncomfortable. Ancient bathroom fittings. Carpets in halls and landings like a patchwork quilt and quite grubby. Limited parking. Overpriced. Did not stay for breakfast as too eager to get out.

Date visited: 3/7/05

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
So I was getting into my car, and this bloke says to me "Can you give me a lift?" I said "Sure, you look great, the world's your oyster, go for it." - Tommy Cooper
More Quotes

On this day:
First Lord Mayor’s Show - 1215, Putney Debates Begin - 1647, Royal Marines Established - 1664
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages