Cheltenham

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Reviews of Cheltenham Park Hotel, Cheltenham

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Elgan Davies on 16th February, 2008

Add your review
Hotel is in a nice setting. Facilities fair. Bedrooms average, need upgrading, but cleanliness is not a priority, and whoever oversees the staff in this area need lessons on what 4 star cleeanlines should be like! Restaurant good and staff very accommodating and well. Porterage good. Sprawling place, and long way from reception to some bedrooms, plus does not cater for disabled - stairs all over the place but no elevator. Will not be returning.

Date visited: 8/9 Feb 2008

Review by Lucy on 29th October, 2007

Add your review
I stayed at the CPH for my birthday although it didn't ruin my birthday i thought I should post to warn others. The hotel is under staffed and I thik this is what cause the majority of the problems, for example, the only time we could get for diner (which we had paid for in advance) was 8.45 which was quite late but acceptable, however when we arrived at the resturant at 8.45 we were ignored and left waiting till aroud 9.10.pm then we were told they did not have a table for us!! Although there were lots free that we could see.... eventually we got a table but the service was very slow. We ordered a bottle of wine which cost around 22.00 only to find it being sold in a bar up the road for around 11.00 .. half the price!!! the service and decoration of the resturant did ot warrant the 100% mark up and I felt a little bit conned. We had requested a double room, one would assume you would have a double bed in a double room this was not the case what we had were too single beds pushed together, I guess this could be fine but unfortunatly these beds were not designed to be pushed together and an uncomfortable gap was left in the middle, also some of the lights did not work in the room this seemed to be because the room needed updating the bathroom was extremley old fashioned as were the light fittings... maybe not what you were expect foor the 100.00 a night we were paying. oh yes an one more point.. the cleaner visited the room bu hardly touched anything shes did not even make the bed which I found a bit strange, usually they make the beds in a four star hotel, she also removed one of our towles so on the second night we were left with just one stale towel between us. The lesuire club was average jacuzzi was warm and on a timer which meant i kept turning off, the small pool was croweded with children There are numerous other petty points I could list and all of the above points are small things its just when they all happen together it can be frustrating. My advice would be to look elsewhre before booking this hotel Cheltenham and the Cotswold are well worth a visit and there are lots and lots of B&B's and hotels in the area and maybe you will find something a little better for your money.. Good Luck ;-) .

Date visited: 25/10/2007

Review by Anonymous on 13th August, 2006

Add your review
Good Points: CPH is a very good venue with lovely grounds. The room was very clean and comfortable with everything you needed for an overnight stay. The staff were very accomodating and the service at all times was very efficient. Bad Points: There was no air conditioning although a fan was provided in the room. There was no general lift and the disabled lift was out of action during our stay. This proved to be a problem in the heat when lugging wedding paraphanalia up and down flights of stairs. General Review: We chose CPH as the venue for our daughter's wedding. We found the staff to be friendly,efficient and very helpful. The food was good and well presented. Our accomodation was clean and comfortable although a little hot. The grounds of the hotel were very well tended and a perfect place to sit out with drinks and have photographs taken. We would certainly recommend this hotel as a perfect venue for a wedding.

Date visited: 2006-08-13

Review by Joyce, Aberdeen on 24th July, 2006

Add your review
Good Points: Nice room with green outlook Bad Points: The hotel can't help the distances but we did have to walk for miles to our room; it is a very sprawling place. The 'lake' was really an overgrown large puddle. The showers in the leisure facility were grotty with tiles off the wall & the steam room wasn't working. General Review: I would have liked a more honest description of the landscape & a warning about the distances involved within the hotel. A warning should have been given about shabby changing rooms (i.e. work will be being carried out between (with dates given) & the steam room is prone to break down. Leisure facilities could be cleaner (even a hoovering would have made a difference in the gym)I feel 95 for an ordinary double room should include a continental breakfast. It was going to cost 120 to include breakfast & we decided to do without. Money is an object for us & we booked this as a treat. It didn't really deliver.The staff we did engage with were pleasant.

Date visited: 2006-07-24

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
We're against beaurocracy and anything ending in a Y - John Lydon (Johnny Rotten)
More Quotes

On this day:
Battle of Nechtansmere - 0685, Major Earthquake Damages Canterbury Cathedral - 1382, Treaty of Troyes - 1420, Cooper Floors Ali - 1966, Cutty Sark Ablaze - 2007
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages