It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Reviews of Cat Inn, West Hoathly

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Luigi Manner on 1st October, 2008

Add your review
What a fantastic place to spend my Saturday night. Set in the most beautiful village surrounded by a buzzing atmosphere inside the pub. It was great to see so many young people working there, two on the floor and i believe in the kitchen too. My wife had the Pork Bell, the new chef's finest i believe. This was cooked to perfection. I had a larger portion of the scallop starter. This truly was fantastic, and well seasoned. Presentation was immaculate; the cress on top looked wonderful. Both my children had the Steak mushroom and ale pie which, without its charm, i felt was a bit watery. Very tasty nonetheless. (I couldn't resist eating the leftovers!) Desserts were equally as good, especially the Crumble Tart which my wife ate. All 4 puds were well presented, but not too flashy. Drinkwise- the Harveys is very well kept so no problems there, and a decent house red was to my wife's liking. Overall the atmosphere was superb- a busy pub restaurant with relaxed but professional staff. 10/10 Well worth a visit.

Date visited: 06/09/2008

Review by Carole Villiers on 26th September, 2008

Add your review
Had a lovely evening with my husband and friends. The food was very well cooked and very tasty. The whole ambience of the place is excellent. We were highly amused when one of the diners proceeded to lick his plate when he had finished his meal!!! We didn't know whether to put it down to bad manners or compliments to the chef. I would like to believe the latter.!! We will be regular visitors in the future.

Date visited: August2008

Review by Paul Stanyer on 5th May, 2008

Add your review
Excellent for wheelchair users. Well-tarmaced car park, only one step into the pub, level floors throughout. Big and clean disabled toilet. And terrific food with prompt service. Posh grub at working-class prices.

Date visited: 4th May 2008

Review by JUDE on 7th August, 2007

Add your review
Fantastic sunday lunch, great place, great atmoshphere,will be going back next sunday 12th august for their yearly classic car meet. whilst reading the other comment, the I also have children and the pub IS FAMILY FRIENDY but only in the garden, so if you want an adult day out the pub inside is not full of screaming kids!But if you want to take kids under 14 they are welcomed in the garden. the lady mentioned obviously had had a problem with her kids not being allowed in!! VERY UNFAIR COMMENT! GREAT PUB, GREAT FOOD, GREAT STAFF, KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK !!!!

Date visited: 5th august 2007

Review by Sandra Underwood on 22nd June, 2007

Add your review
Very disappointed unable to make a reservation for a family Sunday lunch , not family orientated.

Date visited: Unable to visit

Review by Keith McKenna on 5th March, 2006

Add your review
Since Mark White took over this well known pub/ restaurant there has been a complete transformation in both the food, the service, the welcome and the general ambience. It's set to become one of THE pub dining places in West Sussex. His success at The Fountain in Ashurst earned him "Sussex Dining Pub of The Year". How long before The Cat gets the same accolade ?

Date visited: 05/03/06

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
It was fantastic to work in Cornwall partly because my family live there so I was able to do lots of visiting and eat lots of cake. - Dawn French
More Quotes

On this day:
Magna Carta Signed - 1215, The Peasants' Revolt ends - 1381, First Botanic Garden in Britain - 1621, Alcock and Brown complete 1st non stop flight across the Atlantic - 1919
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages