It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Reviews of Royal Oak Inn, Poynings

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Couchman on 23rd September, 2009

Add your review
Really nice pub but far to expensive. Sandwich 8.00 chip 3.00. plus a coffee and tomatoe juice and the bill was 24.00 . Please run a menu to suit the normal person on the street. Staff friendly but will njot visit again as to expensive which is a shame.

Date visited: 16.09.09

Review by david scargill on 12th September, 2007

Add your review
It's a shame about this pub - beatifully presented, newly refurbished, located in a quaint village but capitalises on its remote location and lack of competition to charge top resturant prices for pub food. 2 for a small bowl of chips, 5 a bowl of soup, 7 a sandwich and 10 for a burger - what a rip off! Great for a drink,and a meal if you don't mind being ripped off.

Date visited: 12 september 2007

Review by caroline on 11th December, 2006

Add your review
What a great Pub. After reading the other reviews i am shocked to hear people have had a bad experience. Staff were really fiendly, pub clean - spotless in fact! Food served promptly and cooked beautifully. Atmosphere was excellent - a real buzz. They can cater for Gluten Free diets - very rare. I will be going back!

Date visited: December 2006

Review by Gary on 24th July, 2006

Add your review
If you would love a really enjoyable meal with friendly staff eager to help, do not go to this nice relaxing out of the way pub. I arrived, included in a party of six. Our table had been reserved. We took our seats and were instantly ignored. Our orders were eventually placed at the bar and arrived at the table approximately 45minutes later. I ordered the most simple item on the menu, a trio of different local sausages, caramalised onions and mash with rich gravy. What I got was three identical sausages, no onions and lumpy mash. The service was indifferent with no accoutrements offered. The owners were absent and the young manager and staff were clearly insufficiently experienced.

Date visited: 23 July 2006

Review by TIM on 5th May, 2006

Add your review
I reserved a table at the Royal Oak for dinner to celebrate my partners birthday together with 5 friends. It had been a very hot day and understandably the pub was very busy. We ordered 3 Sirlion steaks from the "Specials" board, 2 Lamb rumps, 1 Cod and chips and 1 sausage and mash. We had to wait about an hour for our food and when it arrived the sirlion steaks were very disappointing for a "special". They were barely warm and one of them was taken away as a result. The same steak came back after obviously been microwaved which spoilt the steak even further. The 2 rump of lamb's that had been ordered arrived as beef steaks despite their being no rump steak on the menu! We had to wait a further 10 minutes before we could eat. I did complain in the manager did apologise and agree not to charge us for the steaks, however the evening had been spolit as a result. We have often eaten at the Royal Oak and have never had cause for complaint before, the food and in particular the Harvey's Ale has always been good. The atmosphere and refurbishment is nice and I hope that this was a one off. I will however think twice before eating here again.

Date visited: 04/05/2006

Review by mike crowther on 28th February, 2006

Add your review
MUCH IMPROVED FOOD OVER THE PAST YEAR. GOOD SERVICE, LOG FIRES AND LOTS OF OAK , BUT NOT TOO 'TWEE' SENSIBLE WINE LIST - IF A LITTLE EXPENSIVE, GOOD MENU, NOT TOO LARGE OR AMBITIOUS SNACKS OF LOCALLY SMOKED FISH,SALADS AND SANDWICHES. LOCALLY PRODUCED MEAT AND A BLACKBOARD WITH HALF A DOZEN DISHES OF THE DAY. WE HAD A RELAXED LIGHT LUNCH WITH A BOTTLE OF CHILEAN MERLOT FOR ABOUT 25.

Date visited: 28/02/2006

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
The surest way to fail is not to determine to succeed. - Richard Sheridan
More Quotes

On this day:
Magna Carta Signed - 1215, The Peasants' Revolt ends - 1381, First Botanic Garden in Britain - 1621, Alcock and Brown complete 1st non stop flight across the Atlantic - 1919
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages