It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Reviews of Golden Galleon, Exceat

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by mr spiv barstaff on 4th October, 2008

Add your review
we do have a good selection of beer's and ales. to the previous poster, it dosent matter if where young? You where "back in the day" id welcome you to join the team and make such a wonderfull improvement, we all work our arses off to try and provide the best service possible. i suppose you cant please every one though. at least you can gurrantee a quite drink without any trouble and a nice location, anyway please come and enjoy its good

Date visited: 9/11/08

Review by richard harrison on 23rd July, 2008

Add your review
I had not been to the Golden Galleon for a while, and remembered it as an interesting quirky place with a micro brewery and a kind of slightly wacky atmosphere. I was very surprised to visit today. I think it must have been bought out by some big corporate pub outfit - Village Inns branding everywhere? Anyway, the interior has been gutted and corporatised. Staff appear to be the typical menopausal teenagers and spivvy careless young blokes which tend to be employed by such outfits. The micro brewery appears to have gone and the place it occupied seems to have been given over to dining tables. Apart from Harveys, the beers seemed to be all the usual nondescript tasteless mainstream rubbish from the big players. The barman was curt, slapdash, and rushy and gave the impression that we customers were a bit of a nuisance. Glasses were dirty. The Harveys was OK but kept way too cold for a real ale. A real shame. Major disappointment. What used to be an unusual and interesting pub serving some unique beers appears to be have been replaced by a coporatised, lowest common denominator generic identikit pub, same as you would find anywhere from Acton to Norwich. I will not return - there is no point making a special journey to this place, you can find the same anywhere. If in the local area, try the Giants Rest which is a short distance away in Wilmington.

Date visited: 23 july 2008

Review by Linda Dutton on 20th February, 2007

Add your review
I have eaten at the Golden Galleon half a dozen times since last summer - and on every occasion the food has been excellent. I was there today with five other family members of varying ages. We each had a main course and drinks and the bill was less than 60. The food on all six plates was hot, delicious and generous. We will definitely go back!

Date visited: 20/2/2006

Review by P Jones on 21st December, 2006

Add your review
7 friends decided to have a meal in the galleon, only to decide not to go back again. The service was VERY slow although it was early afternoon and not packed, when we did finally get the meals they were warm not hot, 3 of us could not eat the meals, I had a medium cooked steak which arrived burnt and rock hard, uneatable we took it home for the dog. We spent nearly two hundred pounds on food, drinks and coffees. When we complained we were told they would give us all around of coffees free, but we worked it out at the end that we had to pay for the liquers, we thought we had the filter coffee free, then as we left we realised refills were free. When I complained to a waitress she was very rude. Definately not recommended.

Date visited: 20.12.2006

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Eternity's a terrible thought. I mean, where's it all going to end? - Sir Tom Stoppard
More Quotes

On this day:
Bloody Retribution in Kennington - 1746, First Penguin Paperbacks - 1935, England win the World Cup - 1966, Falkirk Rail Disaster - 1984, Cool Britannia Party at 10 Downing Street - 1997, Last Edition of Top of the Pops - 2006
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages