It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Reviews of Bulls Head Inn, Alton

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by sam on 24th September, 2011

Add your review
Family room – AWFUL!!! Poor standard of accommodation, nothing like their website! I am writing this to give anyone looking at it a more accurate idea of what you get from a family room at the Bulls head, Alton, as their website is very misleading. Felt like you were entering a student bedsit from the 80's, dirty carpets, stained old furniture, stained bed sheets, in desperate need of refurbishment and smelt bad. It has a dangerously steep and high staircase up to what is supposed to be a children’s room. A miserable experience and a complete waste of money, I would recommend that you stay somewhere else!

Date visited: august 2011

Review by L Robinson on 2nd December, 2010

Add your review
Had a great stay at the Bull's Head Inn. We arrived when there was alot of snow and was greated by a lovely warm fire and friendly staff, who showed us to our room and explained about evening food. The food was excellent and the atmosphere was really friendly. Placed in a lovely village. Room was very characteristic of the surroundings with was nice. Being the only 2 guests in the Inn we were very much looked after and grateful for their efforts due to the problems with the snow. Even though we cancelled our reason for being there due the snow we still had a lovely time and will be back when the snow has gone. 9/10 definatly a good place to stay. :-)

Date visited: 30/11/10

Review by goldsworthy on 18th July, 2010

Add your review
Stayed for just one night in the family room (room 8). Was a little shocked to find that the entrance to the rooms was two doors down from the pub. On opening the front door the hallway was very musty and old looking. Looked like we were entering a bedsit. The rooms were dated and in need of refurbishing. The twin upstairs room accessible through the bathroom was extremely disappointing with mould on the walls behind the curtain. At 7pm at night with two extremely tired kids, we had no choice but to stay. Twin room tv not tuned in and no remotes in either rooms. On the up side, the Bulls Head is a lovely quaint olde worlde pub and the restraunt food was very good and the breakfast was excellent.

Date visited: 17th July 2010

Review by jazzer on 16th July, 2010

Add your review
Stayed overnight at the Bulls Head inn, in the family room. En-suite floor was dirty & hadn't been cleaned for some time. The attic room, which is reached by the steepest most dangerous stair possible. The rooms are in need of a complete redecoration & clean. Would not recommend this to anyone.

Date visited: july 2010

Review by ryan kift on 29th September, 2009

Add your review
A great pub, exellent food. The rooms (we stayed in a double) were tastefully decorated (old country style) and spotless. The staff were really friendly and helpful. will be back.

Date visited: 20/09/09 & 21/09/09

Review by ryan kift on 23rd September, 2009

Add your review
Stayed for two nights. exellent food, charming building, friendly staff. Will definetly be going back.

Date visited: 20/09/09

Review by richard on 30th August, 2009

Add your review
greeted by a very unfriendly landlady who did not want to talk to us,the family room was dirty with last occupants food on floors,lights,tv,sink,shaving points did not work,damp,knobs falling off and leaving sharp screws,very dangerous for children to stay in,when we left we were told that we had to pay more and when I said that it had been agreed over the phone the lady who was standing in for the landlady became very rude and agressive I only paid what we agreed and have been told that I will get a demanding call from the landlady,Please stay away

Date visited: 28th august 2009

Review by victoria roscoe on 10th June, 2009

Add your review
on our arrival we was greeted by the landlady, with not so much as a hello, she had a face like thunder and promptly give us our key. we went up to our room which was very small but clean. on leaving sunday i was disgusted to find that price i had been told on the phone and on the internet was not the price they wanted off me, they said it was wrong on the internet. when i went into it with the girl she got snotty and argumentative. i would not recommend this inn to anyone. it was the most unfriendly and unwelcoming place i have ever been!

Date visited: 6th june 2009

Review by Saj on 16th February, 2009

Add your review
A group of friends stayed here for 1 night, and i can highly reccommed this bed and breakfast, cheaper and a more enjoyable than a travelodge. Also the staff where very polite and great people. Also the pub was good fun. The family room that we had was great fun and very enjoyable. Also the beds where very comfontable, with all the rooms and bathrooms very clean. Also if you are planning on going to Alton towers the next day the bulls head inn is ideal, approximately 5 minute drive from the Bulls Inn. The Inn is located in a very quiet part of alton. Very enjoyable and would recommend.

Date visited: 15th February 09

Review by Martin Carroll on 8th July, 2008

Add your review
Myself and my girlfriend just returned from a 2nt break at the Bulls Head Inn and can happily recommend it to all. We do not drive which was no problem at all. We boarded a bus from Uttoxeter which took us virtually outside the hotel for minimal cost. For such a quiet village the public transport is surprisingly prompt. Also just a 5 minute journey to Alton Towers! The food, the setting, the staff/service, everything was FANTASTIC! Thanks and hope to see you all again.

Date visited: 5th July 2008

Review by mark embery on 20th September, 2007

Add your review
We had taken the family to alton towers and found the pub on way back.Just to say the beer was fantastic and the food was fantastic full credit to kitchen staff and all the staff.returned next day also and was fantastic again.

Date visited: 28 08 07

Review by Christine Fletcher on 5th July, 2006

Add your review
We spent two nights at the Bulls Head Inn on a trip to Alton Towers. We booked a family room which was spacious and clean with excellent facilities and the children had there own sleeping area. The staff were all very friendly and the food and service were superb. I would thoroughly recommend the Bulls Head Inn especially if you are going to Alton Towers as it is only a five minute drive away.

Date visited: 1st July 2006

Review by Mr and Mrs Jackson on 5th April, 2005

Add your review
We were very pleased with service and room at the Bulls Head, we would recommend it to everyone and the food was excelent.

Date visited: 1st April

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Dickens is one of those authors who are well worth stealing. - George Orwell
More Quotes

On this day:
Scotland and France form their 'Auld Alliance' - 1295, Battle of Southwark - 1450, Newton’s Principia Published - 1687, Giant Hailstone Hits Plumstead - 1925, National Health Service established - 1948
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages