It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

March 2020: West Norfolk

Welcome to West Norfolk, a truly special place of unspoilt charm and natural beauty, where tranquillity and relaxation are the order of the day.

Set against ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Tally Ho Inn,

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Matthew Parkes on 11th November, 2013

Add your review
Nice pub and great food, though had to wait a while for it. 2 hours for starter and main!!! Pub was very cold and my partner was freezing. Not in a rush to go back.

Date visited: 9th November 2013

Review by Mark Grant on 2nd October, 2011

Add your review
Not a good experience. Food was okay but menu flattered to deceive. The service our table received was nothing short of dreadful.Shame because it was a special night with friends and we are local and we are all easy going. Had to be really bad for me to complain, and demand to see the owner before we even started dinner. The attitide of the waiting on staff was incredible when all was needed was a sorry.Will not expose ourselves to that sort of experience again. Sorry.

Date visited: 1st October 2011

Review by CHRIS WINFIELD on 24th September, 2009

Add your review
I am writing this Review now, because I was looking up a referance and I got this site.......noticed some comments ON THE TALLY HO The comments I can not beleive that were so negative,I beleive it was either someone who is use to greasy spoon food ,or its the competition as they left no name. My wife and I visited The Tally Ho Inn on the said date and we stayed in one of the converted stables. The room had great character and the feel of the countryside. It was not 5* but you are in the countryside,In Lincolnshire I loved it because it was differant and to eat and drink like a king !. (What a Great Nights sleep not hearing the city noises and having countryside fresh air and it being converted stables it was great and realy different.)But if you want 5* accomodation then its not for you, but you are missing something in life because it was a great stay. On arriving at the Tally Ho the reception was very nice and we felt welcomed. My car keys were thrown in our room and it was time for a quick snack and pint before relaxing in the room for the evening meal.The trouble was the pint was so good I had to try a couple more and the locals made you very welcome. The food was,to tell the truth, mouth watering full of flavour.We had lunch and the evening meal in the restaurant. We were very impressed with both meals. In the evening the restaurant was candle lit and the meal and presentation was impressive,A La Carte, not boil in the bag pile it up on the plate job. All in all : Our room could of done with a little renovation... BUT if this is done then my memories of Dick Turpin riding his horse shouting TALLY HO will have vanished because then they WILL NOT BE CONVERTED STABLES (lack of character) The Food This was first class. It was just the right amount of portion where you benifit the starter then the main and then the sweet and to finish if you are allowed a liqueur coffee. It was heaven.( I can still taste the flavours) If you look on their web site you can see the quality of food and nearly taste it. Breakfast: Yes Please do you deliver. It was the best quality sausage,bacon and they must of been free free free range eggs as the flavour mmmmmmmmm. The Service I have never felt more welcomed . I asked their advise on wine and the reply was the House is very popular. They were right it was very nice and to know you were not being pushed to buy the most expensive speaks for itself. I cannot believe anyone would dislike their visit to The Tally Ho,because the staff and management are so proud in what they are doing and you know what, THEY CARE. If something goes wrong people make mountains out of molehills. but if something is good they do not praise it. I raise my Glass to the Talley Ho AND I WILL BE BACK. My name is Chris Winfield and if you need more information leave feedback with your name on this site and I will reply.

Date visited: 11th July 2009

Review by Ian on 24th June, 2009

Add your review
Called for lunch about 230pm on the way to Stamford Shakespeare Company. Had meals from the lunch menu. They were excellent and washed down with Abbot ale kept in fine form. Service smart and efficient. Lovely break

Date visited: 22/6/09

Review by TT on 26th March, 2009

Add your review
Went for dinner on a Thursday evening. It used to be really good, so very dissapointing to re-visit under new chef and management. Really quite poor food, not even up to basic 'pub grub' standards and at restaurant prices !! Not recommended I am am sorry to say, even with a 50% discount.

Date visited: 26/03/09

Review by tt on 26th March, 2009

Add your review
Food quite shocking I am afraid as it is not up to very basic standards but at high restaurant prices. Nearly 50 for 2 when the mains were sent back uneaten !! Bad food, service lackin and not recommended I am afraid.

Date visited: 26/03/09

Review by Anonymous on 15th February, 2008

Add your review
The food was mixed but service in the restaurant excellent. The steak pie required a straw to eat!! The accommodation was poor. It needs refurbishing. The door stuck and required a hefty shoulder to open/close. The shower was dreadful. Tiles off wall, mould etc. The toilet cistern leaked. There were noises from plumbing and yapping dogs outside. Other visitors left at 0630 making a lot of noise. When they returned they cleaned their boots outside my room leaving large amounts of mud on floor. On reflection, I would not go back.

Date visited: 11/02/08

Review by Heather on 20th March, 2006

Add your review
We visited thhe Tally Ho for the first time yestarday for Sunday lunch, there were 4 of us, my husband, my two teenage kids and myself. It was warm and friendly. We had not booked but were found a table...right by the roaring log fire...lovely. The menu was very nice, although I had trouble choosing my main course...simply because they all sounded nice. The meals arrived and they were well presented and tasted wonderful...the haddock fishcakes in sweet chilli sauce are totally recommended. The courses were not rushed, you had time to let your starter go down before your main course arrived. The main course was equally as enjoyable as the starter, the only disappointment was that we had to be somewhere before they closed so we could'nt stay for a sweet....shame because we saw the sweets on the next table and they looked lovely. I would recommend this place to anyone. My husband and I intend to go back on our own one evening for a meal and we will most certainly return for another Sunday lunch...its well worth the 40 minute drive from home. Thankyou Tally Ho.

Date visited: 18/03/2006

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
What's done can't be undone. - William Shakespeare
More Quotes

On this day:
Battle of Northampton - 1460, Lady Jane Grey proclaimed Queen of England - 1553, Battle of Beachy Head - 1690, The Battle of Britain begins - 1940, Launch of the Parking Meter - 1958
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages

England:
Bath
Bedfordshire
Berkshire
Bristol
Buckinghamshire
Cambridgeshire
Cheshire
Cleveland/Teesside
Cornwall
County Durham
Cumbria
Derbyshire
Devon
Dorset
Essex
Gloucestershire
Greater Manchester
Hampshire
Herefordshire
Hertfordshire
Kent
Lancashire
Leicestershire
Lincolnshire
London
Merseyside
Norfolk
Northamptonshire
Northumberland
Nottinghamshire
Oxfordshire
Rutland
Shropshire
Somerset
Staffordshire
Suffolk
Surrey
Sussex
Tyne & Wear
Warwickshire
West Midlands
Wiltshire
Worcestershire
East Yorkshire
North Yorkshire
South Yorkshire
West Yorkshire
Scotland:
Angus & Dundee
Argyll
Ayrshire & Arran
Borders
Dumfries & Galloway
Edinburgh & the Lothians
Fife
Glasgow
Grampian
Highlands
Isle of Islay
Isle of Mull
Isle of Skye
Lanarkshire
Perthshire
Stirlingshire
Western Isles
Wales:
Anglesey
Mid Wales
North Wales
South Wales
West Wales
Ireland
Northern Ireland:
Belfast
County Antrim
County Armagh
County Down
County Fermanagh
County Londonderry
County Tyrone
Offshore:
Guernsey
Jersey
Isle of Man
Isle of Wight
Isles of Scilly
Orkneys
Shetland Isles