Rhyd

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Reviews of Rhyd Hir B&B, Llanfyllin

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Mo and Paul Millard on 26th April, 2010

Add your review
We had a wonderful week-end helped by David's knowledge of the local area. He gave us an itinerary to places we would never have found without his direction, places of interest and sheer wonderment. The accommodation was superb, with Diane's touch of class with everything, from bedroom furnishings to breakfast tea service, and our candlelit dinner, with soft music and delightful food was pleasant in the extreme. Our sincere thanks to David and Diane and we hope to visit them again in the near future.

Date visited: 23rd and 24th April '10

Review by Rachel Tostevin on 29th September, 2009

Add your review
This is a fantastic B&B! Everything was first class; the food, the accommodation, the bathrooms and the people. I was amazed at the size of the bedroom and the cleanliness throughout. David and Diane were wonderful hosts who looked after our every need, even providing vital clothing for a wedding which we'd forgotten to pack! The homely atmosphere coupled with the homemade food and delicious jam made our stay unforgettable. I would highly recommend Rhyd Hir and look forward to returning one day.

Date visited: 19/09/09

Review by Dennis & linda on 28th August, 2009

Add your review
This is a lovely place to stay if you are looking for a quiet break. The house is set in itís own grounds with a wooded area at the front and there is a large raised garden at the rear where you can sit and read and enjoy the sunshine [although this canít be guaranteed because you are in Wales] The house looks as though it has been fully refurbished recently because everywhere is spick and span. We stayed in a large comfortable room which was spotless. The bed was comfortable and there was a good power shower. The whole house is tastefully decorated and everything you might possibly need is available We spent an enjoyable couple of days driving around exploring the local pubs - good ale and food and the locals were very friendly. Also we visited Powys Castle [National Trust] and Lake Vrynwy which are both well worth visiting. We had a big cooked breakfast each morning [cereals are also available] and I understand that the food is sourced locally. David [the proprietor] told me that he has lots of connections with the local farmers and we also had some home-made jam which Diane [his wife] had made with locally grown fruit. If you are looking for somewhere to stay in this area I donít think you could find anywhere better 5 star accommodation at 2 star prices - highly recommended!

Date visited: 22 - 24 August 2009

Review by Barrie & Janet Shallcross on 27th August, 2009

Add your review
We found Rhyd Hir by chance on the internet. The overall description of the B&B sounded too good to be true, but it wasn't. Both Diane & David came to the door of their beautiful home to welcome us on our arrival and their help and advice about the surrounding area made our weekend so much more enjoyable, nothing seemed to be any trouble to them. The entire house was absolutely spotless, the decor was extremely tasteful and whilst on the subject of taste, the breakfasts were delicious. Oh! we must mention the gardens. They were so lovely to wander through, with so much imagination put into their design. It was a good feeling to return to the comfort of Rhyd Hir after a long day out. Thank you Diane & David.

Date visited: 21-24 August 2009

Review by Michele Crooks on 8th May, 2009

Add your review
If you are looking for a great get-away weekend or even longer, look no further, Northern Wales is the place to go. My honey planned a surprise get away weekend for us as we love visiting national trust properties. He wanted to surprise me with Powis Castle and suggested that we stay overnight at a B&B. He chose Rhyd Hir B&B. I was skeptical as sometimes a B&B is a hit or miss. Upon arrival to this lovely location, our hosts came out and greeted us warmly. You will never meet two nicer people,who will make their home feel like yours. Diane and David showed us their lovely garden which was at our disposal and a tour of their home. The place is immaculate. There is a lovely solarium with a constant supply of coffee & tea, along with plenty of bedtime reading. However, we opted for evening conversations with our host David who is an informative and warm hearted person. Our room was wonderful with a brand new en-suite. We even had a super king size bed and slept better than I do at home. I could not find one fault with the accommodations. Bring your appetite to breakfast because Diane serves a full Welsh breakfast similar to an English one minus the beans, along with fruit and your choice of multiple cereals. If you leave hungry it's your own fault. Breakfast is served at a big dining room table. The room is exquisitely decorated. In your room you will also find a binder. Diane and David have prepared information on all the sights that you can see. David is more than happy to print out additional information and maps to your destination. They also have four page list of local restaurants with their ratings for food and prices. They are more than happy to make reservations for you. If you are too tired, then you can even eat dinner there! We arrived on a bank holiday and most places were booked, but David used his clout and got us into a lovely pub not far from him. The food was wonderful and this is one place that Gordon Ramsey will never have to help! We fell in love with the beautiful countryside and decided to stay an extra night. Luckily, they were able to allow us to stay. If you have never been to Northern Wales, I strongly urge you to go. The countryside is awe inspiring. You would think since it is so close to England that the both would be similar, but it is not. I am an American living here temporarily and trying to soak up as much of England and other countries before I have to leave. I have been to many places but never have I been so profoundly touched as by this part of Wales. Even though we were only here for three days, we were constantly on the go. There is so much to see and do you will never get bored. I have been on a natural high since we have gotten back, just dreaming about the next time we go which will be within the next couple of months. As for the price of the B&B, it's obscene. I feel like we are getting the better deal. So, if you need a get-away and want to come home a new person, Rhyd Hir B&B should be your destination, you won't regret it. I rate this place 100 out of 10.

Date visited: May 2-4, 2009

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
When thinking about companions gone, we feel ourselves doubly alone. - Walter Scott
More Quotes

On this day:
Covent Garden Theatre Opens - 1732, William Pitt becomes youngest PM - 1783, Pearl Harbour - 1941
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages