It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

September 2019: Autumn in the Southern Chilterns

We feel an autumn break should be about embracing the beauty of the season rather than trying to escape it in the search for year-round ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Shapla Tandoori Restaurant, Inverness

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Kafeel on 1st January, 2015

Add your review
Visited this place tonight, Extremely upset with the service staff, they were pursuing me to buy the food as per their choice and according to their target bill. Anything that I liked on their menu was discarded by the staff. Staff was rude and utterly unprofessional. Waste of money and food.... Pl don't go and save food.

Date visited: 01-01-2015

Review by Kavitha on 11th September, 2009

Add your review
I agree with most of the reviews when I say this was one of teh worst restaurants Ive been to. My husband and I were on a trip and since we were eating on and off through out the day, we just wanted a light dinner. But apparently here, we have to order a main course(I didnt find much vegeterian options in that) and a minimum of around 10 pounds per person. So unless you go as a big group and plan to eat a lot, dont even bother there...but even if that were the case, I wouldnt recommend it since the workers were arrogant and do not know the meaning of teh word customer service. We came out without having any food and ended up at Chinese.

Date visited: 30/8/2009

Review by Puneet on 7th July, 2009

Add your review
This was one of the worst exp. of m life. I went this place on request of my International friends that they want to enjoy the Indian Food. I saw the nice location etc. and thought it would be atleast reasonable. They are pathetic. They insist you to make order immediately. They have no manners and will stand on your head all the time. They want you to order most expensive dishes. I am a vegetarian and my frnds were not. Since vegetarian dishes were cheaper, they were not at all happy when I ordered them. Thatís not all; they charged me more than double for the same veg. dishes saying that this is the minimum price for main course dishes. Thatís ridiculous. And when I protested they threatened to beat me up and abused all my friends. I was literally forced to hand over my credit card and pay. And when we were leaving they abused us all our way down to the stairs and out. I was so ashamed in front of all my frnds. I could not speak to my frnds for 2 hours coz of anger. I went there as tourist and this was the treatment I got. Puneet +447503939558 London

Date visited: 24/06/2009

Review by Penelope on 22nd January, 2009

Add your review
I felt I had to write this review after reading the other 2 reviews written in 2007. We live in Inverness and have used the Shapla Restaurant, to sit in and to take away, for several years now. I have to say that we are happy with the food we have been served, and the staff have always been friendly and courteous to us even when we arrive with our five children who seen to have difficulty getting all the rice into their mouths... I think you should give it a try...I doubt you'll be disappointed!

Date visited: all the time

Review by Mac on 13th April, 2007

Add your review
Bad food, bad service - not worth visiting. I don't remember what I ordered for my meal. Not that it matters - since whatever you order you'll not be able to eat it anyway. The very sight & smells will put you off Indian food for life! Thankfully there's no shortage of eating places nearby, so you don't run out of options. I'd not even consider this as a last option though!

Date visited: Don't remember

Review by Tourist on 11th April, 2007

Add your review
The one advice I'd not forget to give to my friends/strangers in UK before they visit Scotland is AVOID THIS PLACE - the food is rubbish & so is the service! And they insist on making you order more than you want to eat as apparently - 'those are the rules of the restaurant'!! Absolutely Ridiculous!

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Truth emerges more readily from error than from confusion. - Sir Francis Bacon
More Quotes

On this day:
British surrender at Yorktown - 1781, North Sea Oil Discovered - 1970, Black Monday Market Crash - 1987, Guildford Four Verdicts Quashed - 1989
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages