Kingston

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Reviews of Kingston Lodge Hotel, Kingston upon Thames

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Anonymous on 1st September, 2009

Add your review
Good Points: staff were friendly and helpful. Bad Points: breakfast set up was very poor. buffet style but had to wait for everything. no milk no coffee throughout breakfast period! General review: ok. room was very hot. room service was speedy but can with out condiment

Date visited: 2009-09-01

Review by schogger on 24th November, 2006

Add your review
Although I booked with the hotel, I was not impressed on the three occasions I telephoned there, with the abrupt manner in which I was spoken to. The room was overpriced. Paint was peeling off the woodwork. There was poor disabled access in the hotel, about which I was not previously advised, even though I booked a room supposedly suitable for a person in a wheelchair. It was situated at a long, narrow corridor - not conducive to being able to wheel a wheelchair. There was no walk-in shower. How can a disabled person climb into a bath?

Date visited: 18 Nov 06

Review by Catherine, Weston on 12th July, 2006

Add your review
Good Points: Hotel & rooms well kept & nicely decorated. Lovely courtyard to sit in with a few drinks on a summer evening. Bad Points: Bedrooms not very large General Review: Well kept hotel just outside Kingston, not close enough to walk into town but this did keep it away from the bulk of traffic. Pleasant atmosphere and friendly staff (although most spoke English as a second language, which led to some interesting responses to requests). High quality food in the restaurant with a reasonable wine list, a little expensive but there was a cheaper bar food menu alternative.

Date visited: 2006-07-12

Review by Brian, East Grinstead on 14th June, 2006

Add your review
Good Points: Not having to ask for extra pillows. We usually have to ask for extra pillows - it was good that they were in the wardrobe already and that that this info was given in the hotel information booklet. Bad Points: It would have been nice to have some complimentary bottled water in the room. We had to go and get some from the bar. The air-con didn't work - and we always find hotel rooms too hot - but at least here we can open the windows. General Review: We always try to use this hotel when we come to Kingston. It has everything we need for a night or two and is clean, comfortable and the staff are helpful and friendly. It's situation on the edge of Kingston is good for all local amenities and also for travelling to London by train or car. The bar is pleasant to sit in for a drink and the courtyard/patio area good when the weather is fine.

Date visited: 2006-06-14

Review by ELizabeth, Earl Shilton on 12th June, 2006

Add your review
Good Points: Very good overall although the rooms were very warm - air conditioning would have been of beneift as the weather was warm Bad Points: nothing General Review: Pleasant surrounding with a nice courtyard for sitting out in. We did expect some road noise as it was on a main road but this was minimal. We wouls also have eaten in the hotel in the evening as th emenu looking very appertising but we had made other arrangements. The breakfast was excellent with an extensive choice.

Date visited: 2006-06-12

Review by Anonymous on 27th March, 2006

Add your review
Good Points: Good location and rooms fine, parking just about adequate, but can be difficult if hotel full. Staff pleasant. Bad Points: Restaurant service slow, especially at breakfast - how long can toast take? Staff training needed for waiting staff. They are all very pleasant, but clearly communication between the kitchen and staff is lacking. General Review: How near is it to public transport? What conferences are on at the same time as the booking (large groups of guests can be disruptive at night).

Date visited: 2006-03-27

Review by Tony Blades on 17th February, 2006

Add your review
I had an awful stay at this Hotel. The service was poor and the rooms shabby for the price. If in Kingston again I will be looking for alternative accommodation as I felt the price did not justify my experience. To be fair to the Hotel I did not complain as I saw very few staff.

Date visited: 12.12.2005

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
It is better to lose health like a spendthrift than to waste it like a miser. - Robert Louis Stevenson
More Quotes

On this day:
Scotland and France form their 'Auld Alliance' - 1295, Battle of Southwark - 1450, Newton’s Principia Published - 1687, Giant Hailstone Hits Plumstead - 1925, National Health Service established - 1948
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages