Orchard

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Reviews of Orchard House, Rothbury

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by ann, wrawby on 30th September, 2010

Add your review
from ringing the door bell a most friendly welcome. the blue room was excellant cosy, a very large bed . breakfast served by very pleasant ladies. witha good choice can recommend the porridge!!!. a visit to cragside is recommended a national trust dream. wiil return for more!!

Date visited: 19th september

Review by David Blakeburn on 10th February, 2010

Add your review
We had already reviewed the Orchard House online at tirpadvisor and I am delighted to record that the reviews were accurate, which sometimes they are not. In this case, the Orchard House came up as excellent and it was. The location was perfect for us and the breakfast sublime. The little extras were a lovely surprise on checking in

Date visited: November 2009

Review by James on 17th August, 2009

Add your review
Good Points: Check In fine, given refreshing drink in the lounge. Nice size room (Suite). Good clean bathroom. Nice bright breakfast room with a good selection of fruit juices and well cooked and tasty Full English. Bad Points: Took a while for someone to answer front door bell on arrival and a number of (presume laundry) holdalls in front entrance which did not bode well as a first impression. A worrying feature was that the only way to contact the proprietor (after 2230) was to go down stairs, open the front door and ring the bell, this was a bit concerning especially if help was needed especially in the middle of the night. General review: Stay was OK and satisfied our needs for the one night. Although the room was in an Antique style, it was thought that carpet covering of the floor in the central area would have been better instead of bare boards.

Date visited: 2009-08-17

Review by Connie Price on 4th September, 2007

Add your review
The Orchard House was a most pleasant surprise with its beautiful, most tasteful decor and distinctly boutique feel. Breakfast was a sheer delight and the service in general, unparalled for quality and attention to detail. Northumberland itself is delightful and well worth a visit but, for this establishment alone we will probably visit again much sooner. I suspect, though, that it may be a much more difficult place to book in future as news of it is bound to spread quickly.

Date visited: 31 August 2007

Review by Steven Loyst on 2nd September, 2007

Add your review
We came across The Orchard House by chance when driving around while on vacation. Now we’re looking for any excuse to visit there again. The Orchard House is ideal. It’s stylish and cosy and its owners have the experience to know exactly how to make their guests feel welcome and comfortable. Whether wanting to get out of London for just a day or two or touring northern England or Scotland using the village of Rothbury as a stopover, staying at The Orchard House will make your trip a special one. Of all the hotels, bed & breakfasts, and inns we’ve stayed at over the years – in England and abroad – The Orchard House ranks as a favourite.

Date visited: August 2007

Review by Debs Lamplugh on 26th May, 2007

Add your review
What service !!! Nothing was too much trouble and attention to detail was simply amazing much more akin to a boutique hotel than any b&b we have stayed in. We left feeling fully relaxed and pampered. We stayed in a room to the front of the house and just waking in the morning and seeing the tree tops was wounderful as we spend most of working lives in the city. The Northumberland countryside is magnificent and Embleton Bay and the coast are really worth a visit. The village of Rothbury itself is in a time warp almost like something from a different era, very quaint and English and there are many country walks that can be taken from the House. There are eating places within walking distance, the local Italian was very good but if you are looking for a really unique dining experience then try The Tree House in Alnwick. A great weekend that gave us everything we were looking for and we couldn't recommend more highly.

Date visited: May 2007

Review by Carol Cowl on 11th August, 2005

Add your review
What a treat and suprise The Orchard House was. Our room had all the luxury of a five star hotel including a marble bathroom, fresh flowers in the room and a turndown service. We loved the good night bears. We stayed in The Blue Room which is the best room in the house and well worth paying the extra for. Elegant house and lovely people.

Date visited: July 25th 2005

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
He that loves to be flattered is worthy o' the flatterer. - William Shakespeare
More Quotes

On this day:
Oxford surrenders to the Roundheads - 1646, The Legendary Newbury Coat Made - 1811, Worlds First Live Satellite Broadcast - 1967
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages