Dales

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

November 2018: The National Forest

It may be stating the obvious, but the best reason for visiting the National Forest in October is what New Englanders call leaf-peeping. Stuck in ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Dales Country House Hotel, Sheringham

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Elson on 29th May, 2011

Add your review
We went for afternoon tea and were very disappointed with the service. I did write to the hotel to ask for their comments but have never received a reply. The staff were too busy with other things and I would suggest you go earlier rather than later if you want service. Very disappointed as this was a present to us and we saved it until we were on a holiday in Norfolk to use it

Date visited: 5th May 2011

Review by Anonymous on 28th August, 2009

Add your review
Good Points: Quiet location and period style hotel Bad Points: Needs an upgrade of furniture, TV's etc

Date visited: 2009-08-28

Review by jan leach on 15th July, 2008

Add your review
This was a special weekend for us, out 30th wedding anniversary and I had booked this hotel as it looked really special. The hotel itself was lovely and our room was excellent. We had paid for a bed,breakfast and dinner 2 night stay. We were late arriving having driven for 6 hours to get there. On arrival there wasn't anyone on reception and I had to wait from someone. When eventually I was booked in I was rushed to our room and our cases dumped! Dinner was good but I am still struggling to get to terms with the fact that petit fours consisted of one marshmallow thing each!! Breakfast the next morning was a disaster. It took 15 minutes to get a pot of tea (they weren't particularly busy) and 45 minutes for the cooked breakfast to arrive. When it did the sausage was so hot it burnt your mouth and the black pudding was rock solid. The rest of the breakfast left a lot to be desired. Fresh fruit was poor and there wasn't any fresh bread only toast. .

Date visited: 5th July 2008

Review by Jenny Davis on 25th March, 2008

Add your review
My husband brought me a voucher for afternoon tea, we were visting my parents in Sherinham, so I said I would book up and take my mum because she needed a break with my Dad not being well, and from the moment we walked in everythiing was perfect, the service the food everything I just felt I needed to tell you, I will be comming again Thank you

Date visited: 23/03/08

Review by Wynn Turley on 7th January, 2008

Add your review
We spent a weekend at this hotel recently. We had a lovely time the staff were welcoming and attentive. The food was good and I would highly recommend it. I would certainly not hesitate to visit again.

Date visited: 4/1/08 - 6/1/08

Review by M Broomfield on 29th September, 2007

Add your review
Lovely hotel spent our honeymoon here, however booked a return visit 6 months in advance for our wedding anniversay and had a call 3 weeks before we were due to stay there that they have cacelled our stay, because someone came along and wanted to book the whole hotel. They say they care about people but to us it seems money is more important to them. We personnaly think this is disgraceful and should not be allowed. We were offered alternative accommodation in Cromer, they seem to miss the whole point of the fact that we stayed at the Dales in Sheringham for our honeymoon not Cromer. Really angry and disappointed with them

Date visited: 21/10/2007

Review by Linda & David Minett on 14th August, 2007

Add your review
We stayed at the Dales in room 7 we had a four poster bed and a large room. All amenities were fantastic. The staff were really friendly and helpful. The meals were fantastic and we would recommend the Hotel to anybody. We are cosidering booking again soon. Thanks very much to all the staff.

Date visited: 06.08.07

Review by Fran & John Spargo on 21st March, 2007

Add your review
Lovely old country house hotel, setting beautiful, lovely room with wonderful views, mattress was a little uncomfortable!. Food was excellent and the staff very helpful and friendly, a lovely weekend stay

Date visited: 17th/19th March

Review by Steve Collett on 16th January, 2007

Add your review
A beautiful hotel in lovely settings with a good menu and excellent friendly service. Not the place if you want to hurry, but why hurry at such a nice location. Ideal for a romantic weekend and i would recommend to anyone.

Date visited: Jan 2007

Review by John and Patsy on 20th August, 2006

Add your review
Our room was not ready when we arrived at 4pm. We waited for an hour and when I asked again the receptionist said, "Oh yes. Didn't anybody tell you?" Our room was large but our double bed was very uncomfortable. The mattress was probably as old as the hotel. The bathroom had a single energy-saver bulb which was so dim we could hardly see to clean our teeth. The restaurant was excellent. Superb meal but with magnetic cutlery!

Date visited: 23/9/05

Review by Mr & Mrs Smith on 26th June, 2005

Add your review
Room 10: Jazz weekend. Arrived Friday evening. Friendly welcome. Very nice room. Nothing missing,or not working. Pre dinner drinks in the bar - a nice relaxed atmosphere. The food in Upchers restaurant superbly complemented by the restaurant staff. Efficient, discreet, nothing was too much trouble. Saturday evening - extremely well organised and very enjoyable. The whole weekend was a wonderful experience. The staff were the 'icing on the cake'. We really felt we were welcome guests. Thank you.

Date visited: 24/25 June 2005

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
The length of a film should be directly determined by the endurance of the human bladder - Alfred Hitchcock
More Quotes

On this day:
Shakespeare marries Anne Hathaway - 1582, London Gazette First Published - 1665, Treasure Island Published - 1883, Britainís first female mayor elected - 1908, BBC begins Broadcasts - 1922, Coventry Blitz - 1940, NME Publishes First UK Singles Chart - 1952, First British Record Chart Published - 1952, Princess Anne and Mark Phillips Marry - 1973
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages