It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

July 2019: Blackpool and the Lancashire Coast

Itís illumination time in Blackpool. Lancashire in October is not likely to be your choice for a sunshine break, but that is not why ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Holly Bank Caravan Park, Warrington

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by maryjoan on 26th June, 2011

Add your review
On first arriving at Holly Bank caravan Park Rixton it seemed ok but we were in for a shock,toilet and showers filthy,ladies are down a dark passage way and at night a crowd of young Traveler men congregate nearby, did not know about permanent traveler camp on site,lots of deralict tourers on site.Nothing at all in shop.Lots of comings and goings late at night no security at all.Shop has nothing at all in it to purchase.Could go on and on. This site is very badly managed which is a great pity as it is in a lovely part of the country.

Date visited: 17/06/2011

Review by suzie on 10th May, 2010

Add your review
Spoke to a very nice lady when booking the site so was hoping that the current good reviews still stood. How wrong could I be. Arrived at the site on Saturday afternoon. No one in the office, so my husband called the number given. Meanwhile I had a look through the office/shop doors. Row upon row of empty shelves, what food they had had had been swiped on the floor along with discarded clothes. Looked like someone left in a rush. Then I had a look at the toilet block, normally a good indication of how well a campsite is run. It was the most filthiest toilet block I had ever seen. Think the worst. Then I entered the games room, a lonely pool table in a room like a prison cell. Again discarded slate and bricks and general rubble all over the floor. Finally the laundry room; two plastic chairs stacked with workman clothes plus heaps of more dirty clothes left in a mess on the floor. I then had a look at the site which was full of semi permanent residents, quad bikes, motorbikes, all outside the caravans along with general bits of machinery. Member of staff still hadn't arrived during this time so counted our blessings and was on our way.

Date visited: 8th May 2010

Review by jason on 6th December, 2009

Add your review
visted site for 3 nights in tent with wife i came very late at night needed help seting up (as.had.never.tented.b4) so manager offerd help very thoughtfull.allin enjoy stay very clean and tidy and we especially enjoy food at snack van definiatly a next yearer. jason odriscoll

Date visited: 16/8/09

Review by helen hopwood on 5th September, 2009

Add your review
Hi I must say this placed has vastly improved since my last visit in 2008. The camp site is now one of the better sites i have ever been to, there is now a well stocked shop on site and a sandwich van which is the cleanest i have ever seen. The manager was so pleasant and helpful i personally went in to the reception to say thank you to him and to express my satisfaction. The park is just 10 minutes from the Trafford centre and has a large woodland nearby where we spent time walking with our dog. I shall return in the near future to relax and get away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. A big well done to the park for your efforts to improve. Thanks once again.

Date visited: 28/08/09

Review by Mrs B on 26th July, 2009

Add your review
We arrived and booked 3 nights stay, the girl who took our money, and "showed" us around was not very friendly, we were told to pitch our tent on sogging wet marshy ground?!?! We pitched up, then went to check out the facilities, the toilets were disgusting, every sink was blocked and filthy, all toilets were rancid, woman sanitary things down the toilets, and flushes did not work! I went back to tent and told hubby about them, he too said the gents were not any better - and that there were men's products, razors etc left lying out clearly from the resident workies that stayed in some of the shabby looking caravans right next to toilet block. The pay phone was located right outside the ladies toilet door, I felt extremely unsafe! The walk way up to ladies is over grown, dull lighting, and often men hanging about, I was very uncomfortable, and after my initial experience with it all - my hubby walked me to and from the toilets, I only used the toilets if I was at bursting point! We left and went into town to get away as it was a hovel, returned later on, went to bed, and got up at crack of dawn, took tent down and left, didn't even use the facilities - we just wanted to get away ASAP. We didn't think there was much point in trying to get our money back for the other 2 nights stay - in all honesty, it was worth losing that money to get as far away from there as possible! Appalling site, how they remain open baffles me! AND their website is completely misleading!

Date visited: July 2007

Review by shaun howarth on 4th November, 2008

Add your review
On arrival i was greeted by a young man who introduced himself as Hughie, he offered me guidance around the park and showed me their wonderful facilities, i went into the shop and stocked up with all my groceries, he helped me connect up to EHU and also connected my gas, all in all the best site I have been on so far.

Date visited: 21/09/08

Review by Helen Hopwood on 2nd September, 2008

Add your review
The worst campsite I've ever experienced! We would not have stayed had we not paid three nights in advance. The pitches were poorly drained and the grass uncut; a youth on a motorised tractor churned up the grass even further! The shop was a joke - snacks and soft drinks?? No useful information and unhelpful,clueless staff. The toilets and showers were a health hazard - blocked urinals and showers, filthy conditions, broken locks, hooks, etc. The site seemed to be run down and a last resort for hard up contractors. Never again!!

Date visited: 19th to 21st August 2008

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
There is no real wealth but the labor of man. - Percy Bysshe Shelley
More Quotes

On this day:
William Wallace is hanged, drawn and quartered - 1305, LDV becomes Home Guard - 1940, Freckleton Tragedy - 1944
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages