Lamphey

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Reviews of Lamphey Hall Hotel, Pembroke

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Graham on 20th December, 2009

Add your review
Bad Points: We booked "Full board" and thought it petty to be charged for vegetables in addition to our main course at Dinner. General review: Well satisfied thank you.

Date visited: 2009-12-20

Review by Carole on 7th July, 2008

Add your review
Good Points: Spotlessly clean. Bad Points: Plumbing issues. Bath waste overflows when emptying sink. Sink plug will not stay down unless you hold it there until the sink is full. Simple issues to put right. General review: A bit surprised at the Hotel given the claim to be 'The Best Kept Secret in Pembrokeshire' A perfectly ordinary west Wales hotel whose only distinguishing feature - very welcome too - was that it was spotlessly clean. We arrived after 2.00pm, the room was not ready so we went downstairs for coffee. Surprisingly this was charged!

Date visited: 2008-07-07

Review by Nick Evans on 27th August, 2007

Add your review
This IS NOT a child friendly establishment, from the poor service to the open pond easily accessable to young children. We have been frequent visitors to Lamphey Hall for many years. It was recently taken over and this visit was our first and will be our last until the current owner has to sell the Hotel on. I do not expect that this will be long from now based on the service we experienced. In order, the faults we found were: The highchair that we had booked was not available throughout the starter course, and only arrived when we refused to accept the main course. The main course included a wrong order, had burnt Yorkshire puddings, and the waitress had her hair in the gravy. We had to ask for mint sauce, etc several times. When these finally arrived, the waitress was exceptionally unpleasant and rude. The desert course included two wrong orders and one forgotten order, which arrived 15 minutes later. The coffee was served with off cream, which curdled. When we asked for replacements, we were told that the cream was fresh and that this is "What happens when you pour cream in hot coffee"... Finally, upon paying the bill, one member of the party overhead the owner of the Hotel being exceptionally rude about our 18 month daughter. When confronted about this, he firstly denied it, and then became very aggressive, shouting obscenities. When my wife went through, the other owner became abusive, saying that our child was out of control and had spoilt the meal for all. While our daughter was laughing and squealing with delight, she did not tantrum, cry or throw things. At no point did anyone approach us regarding this.

Date visited: 26.8.07

Review by marilyn wheten on 22nd August, 2007

Add your review
very warm welcome by the Staff, the food was superb along with the ambiance. Looking forward to another visit with family this sept.

Date visited: 5.5.07

Review by Anonymous on 1st August, 2006

Add your review
Good Points: The location in relation to our castle tour was excellent. The accomdation and the meals were superb. the staff at Lamphey Hall was excellent and helpful. General Review: An overall excellent experience.

Date visited: 2006-08-01

Review by Derrick, Derby on 1st April, 2006

Add your review
Good Points: Staf very friendly. Made very welcome. Food excellent. Bad Points: None come to mind

Date visited: 2006-04-01

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Incongruity is the mainspring of laughter. - Max Beerbohm
More Quotes

On this day:
Battle of Marston Moor - 1644, Battle of Alford - 1645
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages