Crown

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Reviews of Crown Inn, Chiddingfold

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by mary on 23rd February, 2014

Add your review
2:30 am and the manager has little consideration for guests as his friends are making so much noise we can't sleep.

Date visited: relaxing break

Review by nicholas on 26th February, 2010

Add your review
Good Points: Great staff; great food; lovely old building Bad Points: The cleaner missing the loo. General review: Recommneded

Date visited: 2010-02-26

Review by Ashley Lawrence on 20th July, 2009

Add your review
The inn is absolutely superb. The rooms are lovely and the breakfasts are fantastic. The building and the surroundings are only a small part of why i enjoyed my stay so much. The staff were so friendly and professional, it was a real treat. Thank you so much for making our stay so wonderful.

Date visited: 4th-15th july 09

Review by Jason Venkatasamy on 14th June, 2009

Add your review
We were on our way to Petworth and made a mental note of Chiddingfold, especially the Crown Inn for something to eat on the way back. As others I was pleasantly surprise with the decor and atmosphere. The restaurant food was especially of a high standard (best steak I have had in along time). Great experience will be back for sure. Well done to the staff keep up the excellent work.

Date visited: 13th June 09

Review by elisabeth white on 14th February, 2009

Add your review
We had the good fortune to pop into this pub on the evening of Friday 13th for what was going to be just "a quick drink"! My husband was reminiscing about the old days and about how he used to go there in his youth so was interested to see how much it had changed. I was very very impressed. The barman was friendly and most helpful. The pub has a wealth of character and was spotless. Needless to say we ended up having the most amazing meal in the restaurant. We have eaten out in a lot of top restaurants and I am pleased to say that The Crown surpassed on all counts!! There was a delicious choice on the menu, beautiful panelling in the restaurant with subtle lighting and the particular waitress we had, namely Kate, was extremely professional! All in all an exceptional meal with great attention to detail. A most pleasing experience and one we will most certainly look forward to repeating! Extremely well done.For us it certainly did not turn out to be black Friday the 13th!! Credit where it is due to the chefs and the team at the Crown in Chiddingfold!

Date visited: 13th February 2009

Review by R Jenkins on 18th November, 2008

Add your review
What a wonderful place. Great, traditional style pub food cooked and presented beautifully, plus slightly more exotic dishes should you wish. The rooms have all been re-furbished and are top rate, at least 4* hotel standard. I can't think of a better place to stay in Surrey.

Date visited: 18 Nov 2008

Review by David on 21st October, 2008

Add your review
I live in Chiddingfold, so am very lucky to have the Crown as my local. Thankfully, after the departure of the previous landlord (see Marilyn's review below about what happened last Christmas), The Crown is now under the care of Dan and Hannah Hall. For several years they've sustained tremendous success at The Swan (around the corner - the "lovely local pub" referred to by Marilyn, which took them in on Christmas Day). What a job Dan and Hannah have done in restoring The Crown! Carpets, curtains and upholstery have all been replaced very tastefully. The kitchen has been completely revamped with new equipment and the bedrooms are quite simply stunning. Even the adjoining Half Crown bar has been restored and is a great place to meet friends to watch football or play darts. The menu is priced very reasonably by Surrey standards and the cellar is extensive. The great thing is that, even with all this refurbishment, The Crown retains all the character you'd hope for ina 13th Century inn. So I'd thoroughly recommend it for a good evening out or for a stay.

Date visited: 20 October 2008

Review by Donna on 2nd July, 2008

Add your review
Loved the place , was a delight to visit, hubby and I were touring all over the area last year, visited, Derby, Edensor, Stratford on Avon, Coventry , all over really but found your place and loved it, we want to return. and soon.

Date visited: 2007

Review by Marilyn on 26th December, 2007

Add your review
We had booked for Christmas Day Lunch at this Inn. On arriving at 1pm we saw several people outside looking puzzled and not amused! We found the pub closed and nobody around, and it was pouring with rain to add to our misery. Clearly the owners had done a runner and not told anybody! Fortunately, I had not given a deposit, but several of the other people gathered outside with us had, and had lost a lot of money. Apparently, this etablishment had gone into receivership over a month before and had not told their customer's and, it seems, was still taking money from people even though they knew they could not possibly provide a Christmas Meal. This is a lovely Inn and could be made into a really good business. I hope these awful people who ruined our Christmas day get caught, and maybe the money refunded to the unfortunate who paid up front. I hope whoever takes over The Crown next restores it back to the great pub it was. As for me, my husband, my daughter and my father-in-law, well, we found a great local pub who was serving food and gave us a lovely Christmas Meal. I hope the other disappointed people also found somewhere nice to eat.

Date visited: 25/12/07

Review by Mrs Steed on 25th December, 2007

Add your review
CHRISTMAS DAY 2007: Having paid GBP350 last week to the Owner, we arrived today for a family Christmas lunch, only to find the pub in darkness!!! Very confused; we approached the pub next door - to be told the Crown had gone into receivership!! HURRAH!! Imagine having all your immediate family on the doorstep and nowhere else to go on Christmas Day!!! and to be seriously out of pocket in the process. Need I say any more or proceed with the review of this establishment?!.......

Date visited: 25.12.2007

Review by Loiuse on 17th November, 2007

Add your review
Have been going to The Crown, since before I got married, and indeed had my reception when I did 25 yrs ago there. It was in a different class then. Today, what appeared to be the landlord was a surly man, who asked us to move our table in the bar, even though we had been there 25 mins, as he now needed to put a reserved notice on it. I am no snob, but the place was unlike its past self, full of down at heel types. Menu: ordinary although we did not stay to try it, given the attitude of the staff, who had plenty of other tables in the bar they could have reserved as they were empty at that point. Basically, think I will make complaint about terrible hospitality and manners. Not the place it was at all, even a few years back.

Date visited: 16.11.07

Review by Paul Kearney on 30th August, 2007

Add your review
I was tempted in here by a blackboard in the road promising full English breakfast, early in the morning on my way to Goodwood. It was the most beautifully cooked and presented breakfast I've ever had - a real treat, and proper thick, hand cut, crunchy toast oozing real butter... I'm hoping they're still doing them when I drave past again this weekend!

Date visited: 22 June 2007

Review by Tracy Stiles on 14th June, 2007

Add your review
Having read other reviews I wonder whether I have visited the same Crown Inn as others. As a local resident of Chiddingfold and a regular at the Crown I have found that over the last 2 years the improvements have been many and all have enhanced the already impressive Hotel. The staff are always friendly, helpful, knowledgeable and professional. The food whilst not fine dining is excellent and as for the accomodation, where else can you stay in a room that boasts to have had Kings and Queens as previous occupants. All in all I would highly recomend The Crown to anyone looking for something that is a traditional old English inn look no further.

Date visited: 10th June 2007

Review by Tony Ward on 14th May, 2007

Add your review
I fear that this hotel has lost it's way. Nice staff but untrained and no leadership. Menu aims high but again very poor execution. Public rooms have an air of neglect. I could ot recommend for drink, snack, meal or to stay. Pity, it used to have such a good reputation

Date visited: 4th May

Review by Francis Treasure on 1st December, 2006

Add your review
Known this pub/hotel many years, lovely building and setting, very romantic. Went for night away, special event. Fire alarms went off as changing, chimney fire. Waited outside in freezing cold for about an hour. No warning, no explanation, no liaison, no apology, in fact no comment at all. Maybe if swept their chimneys, wouldn't get fires. Not told when safe to go back in - just went when seemed safe. Surprised to find Nauticaa seafood restaurant hyped on website not available, ceased last summer, back to old menus (of which 4 tatty copies available!). Not told of this when booking, despite telling them booking off website. Sounds like misrepresentation to me. Food pretty good, except for gristly bits in meat, and no cheese available. Service adequate. Complained about fire and lack of liaison when paying bill, asked for discount. Receptionist went off, management would think about it and let us know. Again, no apology, no personal contact management, feels like being fobbed off. Overall impression, bunch of amateurs, atmosphere bit rough. Not currently inclined to go back, or recommend.

Date visited: 30.11.06

Review by Felicity White on 15th September, 2006

Add your review
Having enjoyed the food previously at the Crown and thought it well cooked generous portions and very tasty we went for a Sunday Roast. I can cook a roast much better myself. It was nothing like home cooking. Goodness knows what John Sargeant political journalist who was there with his wife thought of it.

Date visited: Sunday in September

Review by Jenny tillotson on 26th May, 2006

Add your review
Whilst taking a very wet country drive home from Shoreham, me and my partner took our chances on this pub when we saw the sign for Sunday roasts. Our tummy's were rumbling and quite frankly anything would have done the job, but we had struck gold. Upon entering the pub we fell in love with the surroundings so couldn't wait to try the food. Everything was just great,(except the grumpy snob sat behind me). So much so we asked to have a look at all the accomodation in the pub as our minds were ticking away, by chance we may have found our perfect wedding venue. Can't wait to go back, rings waiting to go on our fingers this time round.

Date visited: 21/05/06

Review by Peter Yeanice on 26th April, 2006

Add your review
The new Nautica restaurant is first class. If you love seafood and also traditional English and European fayre then this will be right up your street. I had a sea bass and the wife had trout. We received excellent service and the wine list is extensive and of good quality. I would not hesitate to recommend The Crown Inn as a first class dining experience

Date visited: 21/04/2006

Review by Andy Aboe on 21st February, 2006

Add your review
What an amazing place to stay. Loads of period features which is what you would expect from the 4th oldest coaching Inn in the country. Great service, absolutely superb food served in luxurious surroundings. We stayed the night in very clean, well decorated room. I would give this place 5/5 for charm, friendliness and excellent quality cuisine

Date visited: 03/02/2006

Review by Bonita on 11th December, 2005

Add your review
Fantastic premises, wonderful character and warmth. Very hospitable management (Mr and Mrs Fernbag) with excellent attention to detail. Outstanding wine selection, and good facilities - pool tables in marquee is well though out. We didn't want to leave, really is the kind of place where you wish you could stay longer!

Date visited: 3.12.05

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Most people perform well in a crisis - when the spotlight is on them; it's on the Sunday afternoons of this life, when no-one is looking, that the spirit falters. - Alan Bennett
More Quotes

On this day:
First Met Officer Killed on Duty - 1830, Queen Victoria crowned - 1838, Signing of the Treaty of Versailles - 1919
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages