Marquess

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Reviews of Marquess of Exeter Hotel, Uppingham

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Elizabeth on 12th January, 2011

Add your review
We had a wonderful dinner here the staff were wonderful, especially the very tall young man called Jason, he did everything to make our night a night and meal to remember. The food we couldn't fault the beef to share was mouth watering we will be coming back when we visit the area again 10/10

Date visited: Nov 2010

Review by Clare on 26th February, 2010

Add your review
A major problem is the menu - a dessert said it came with icecream, but it arrived smothered in cream from a can. Vegetarians get the same thing for a starter and a main course -goat's cheese. If you ask for something different - like leaving out an ingredient, you experience the poor - really poor - service. It's expensive for what you get - yhou need to pay extra for vegetables.The restaurant is large and sounds echo - so ok in a large group - not so good for a quiet meal for two. We've been twice and are not going back.

Date visited: 26/02/2010

Review by Anonymous on 15th April, 2009

Add your review
The Marquess of Exeter has just been taken over by esteemed (and michelin star!) chef Brian Baker, they are opening in a few weeks and I cant wait!

Date visited: May 2009

Review by Matt Robbs on 24th February, 2008

Add your review
Contrary to other reviews, we were extremely disappointed with the Marquess of Exeter overall. Our evening meal was marred by filthy glassware which made the wine taste of detergent. This was replaced but not until after we had finished eating. We ordered seabass from the lunch menu with the agreement of the chef. When paying, the waitress tried to charge us extra for the seabass on the grounds that 'the chef said it was a hassle to get it in'. Our bedroom was in an outbuilding and the following morning we were unable to enter the main building for breakfast, it was locked. After phoning the manager we were eventually let in 20 minutes later. We were told by the waitress to help ourselves. The orange juice smelt of yeast and had been fermenting with 3 inches of froth on the surface. The milk was sour, lumpy and beginning to curdle. We wrote to the Rutland Pub Company and received a response stating "your account of events differs significantly from that of the manager. He will respond to you directly". We never received his response, and when we wrote a second time to the Rutland Pub Company, they didn't even have the courtesy to reply. Find somewhere else!!

Date visited: December 2006

Review by Sophie Parker and Charlie Morrison on 1st September, 2006

Add your review
After recently staying at the Marquess for two nights, during what was obviously a busy time of the week, we are nothing less than amazed at the quality of service we received. Arriving late on Friday evening, we were greeted with a warm welcome into a friendly atmosphere. Our bedroom was homely, comfortable and pleasant to stay in, with all facilities and conveniences that you wouldn't usually expect from an Inn. Dinner was out-standing; we were blown away at the choice, presentation, standard of food and pride taken in the cuisine. The service was exceptional; all staff were very friendly and inviting, making it a pleasure to be dining around them. Not being familiar with the area, the staff were happy to help and gave excellent advice on where to go and how to get there. Leaving on Sunday afternoon we were sent happily on our way, reassured that we would receive the same standard of service if we return again in the future, which we definitely will. We highly recommend the Marquess to any one; you are guaranteed superb quality of dining, service, and accommodation from the beginning of your stay until the very end!

Date visited: Friday 25th August - Sunday 27th August

Review by Anonymous on 22nd August, 2006

Add your review
Good Points: location and comfort General Review: the stay was fine but for the apparent shortage of staff. We had to dig the young Hungarian waiter out of the restaurant before we could pay our bill. Not up to the rest of the hotel's standards.

Date visited: 2006-08-22

Review by John and Gill Mitchell on 30th July, 2006

Add your review
We were married at the Marquess of Exeter on the 29th July. The new manager Richard, Mark and all the staff were superb; the organisation faultless; the food was outstanding. We booked all the overnight accommodation; our wedding guests were made to feel most welcome and every comment was positive in the extreme. (The honeymoon suite with its jacuzzi bath is gorgeous!) We have eaten at the Marquess on more than one occasion and the food and service is second to none. The Marquess is delightful and well worth a visit and would highly recommend it as a wedding and or reception venue or just for a superb meal.

Date visited: 29th July 2006

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
I am told that I talk in shorthand and then smudge it. - J R R Tolkien
More Quotes

On this day:
Battle of Marston Moor - 1644, Battle of Alford - 1645
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages