Barnsdale

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

March 2019: Hereford

April can be a tricky month for weather in Britain: surprisingly sunny days interspersed with spring showers. So a destination where the best of the ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Barnsdale Hall Hotel & Country Club, Oakham

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Anonymous on 9th May, 2010

Add your review
Good Points: Swimming pool excellent Bad Points: Not very clear that picture of hotel seen on internet is not where most people stay and that to get to restaurant and bar is in a separate building up above!!! General review: Ok but not comfortable enough. I like hotels where everything is under one roof!

Date visited: 2010-05-09

Review by Julie on 1st March, 2010

Add your review
Good Points: Just fabulous - room was in one of the new blocks and had a lovely balcony. The room was huge & well furnished, clean and view over lakes was lovely. staff were helpful and polite. leisure facilities were great and relaxing - as we stayed on a Friday night, we had the pool, jacuzzi's, steam and sauna almost to ourselves. We stayed on the opening night of the refurbished kitchen - menu was fantastic - took ages to choose and this is normally something i dont have much choice on as I dont eat red meat - so very pleased. also very happy with teapots at breakfast - no leakage!! Bad Points: nothing = just the good old english weather - very wet and extremely cold so we didnt get to walk around the lakes as planned General review: superb - have already recommend it to friends and family and looking to take all my girlfriends there for my birthday in October. great value for money at a stunning hotel

Date visited: 2010-03-01

Review by Anonymous on 17th March, 2009

Add your review
Good Points: I was most impressed with the value for money, it was clear to see on our arrival how grand the hotel is, me and my sister was shocked at the price we were paying to stay in such a beautiful hotel. We are so pleased we are looking into arranging for our parents to book and also gettting a group of girlfriends together for a pampering weekend. Bad Points: For a hotel as grand as yours, i felt the swimming pool changing rooms was a let down, don't get me wrong there ok just not as nice as i would of thought. Other than that i can't fault it in any other way. General review: Fantastic

Date visited: 2009-03-17

Review by Doug Varty on 7th September, 2008

Add your review
The resort and common facilities were very nice. Our 2 bedroom apartment was not. Any time people in adjacent apartments flushed there toilets ( 1:00 am, 6:00 am ) the pipe in the wall outside our bedroom wrattled and groaned for minutes. Very hard to get a good nights sleep. Barnsdale were advised and did not inspect and said they could not move us to another unit. Would not consider going here again.

Date visited: July 11, 2008

Review by Anonymous on 17th August, 2008

Add your review
Good Points: Lots of space in the room with a super view over the lake and gardens. Bad Points: The bathroom was "a little tired" and required modernising General review: Overall very good value for money, and the hotel really is in a superb location !

Date visited: 2008-08-17

Review by Louisa Davies on 19th April, 2007

Add your review
Inaccurate (not disasterous) food advice given to a diabetic, clingfilm left on a steak (not charged for the steak). Faulty electric bedside lamp, portable electric equipment not tested since 16.12.04, a whitish sticky stain on bed blanket, woken at 3.30am by fog-horn noise (presumably faulty plumbing), mould/mildew stains around shower & loo brush disgusting. When we complained, the manager refused to speak to us. Having written to a senior manager, their response has been factually incorrect & 20 considered sufficient compensation. Have notified relevant authorities.

Date visited: 13 April 2007

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Everyone who wants to do good to the human race always ends in universal bullying - Aldous Huxley
More Quotes

On this day:
James Stuart (the Old Pretender) attempts to invade Scotland - 1708, 1st Trams operate in London - 1861, Woolwich Ferry Opens - 1889
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages