It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

March 2020: West Norfolk

Welcome to West Norfolk, a truly special place of unspoilt charm and natural beauty, where tranquillity and relaxation are the order of the day.

Set against ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Eeusk, Oban

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Kath MacDonald on 2nd November, 2009

Add your review
We dropped in the Eeusk on Saturday lunchtime. The restaurant was busy but not crowded and service throughout was quick and cheerful. For starters, we had the pan fried scallops (big and succulent) and the smoked haddock pot which I would recommend to anyone - very tasty with loads of smoky fish. Main courses kept up the standard. For him, langoustines - 6 absolutely huge ones, like mini lobsters. The salad which accompanied them had a particularly nice dressing. I had the star of the show in the pan fried sea bass with creamed leeks and saute potatoes (the menu said Eeusk chips but they looked like saute potatoes to me!). I can only call the sea bass exceptional - the best I've ever tasted. They clearly use high quality raw ingredients in this restaurant. All in all, an excellent experience.

Date visited: 31st Oct 2009

Review by Liz on 8th September, 2009

Add your review
What do you think of when you picture "fishcakes"? Something roughly burger-sized? Well, how about the size of the old 50p piece. OK, there were 3 of them. And (as far as I could tell, given each was gone in half a mouthful) they were very nice. The problem is, given the handful of salad and sprinkling of chips they came with, for a moment I honestly thought I'd been brought a starter-sized portion not a main course. Not good when it cost 9, and was only that 'cheap' because it was lunchtime. The upside was that I'd been worried about getting in & out of the restaurant in time for a ferry connection, given the busyness of the restaurant--a concern that evaporated with the speed that meal disappeared. And to be fair they do put bread & butter on the table. However, all in all I wouldn't advise arriving here too hungry--or if you do, accept you'll probably have to order a few 'extras'.

Date visited: 23rd August 2009

Review by Claire Priest on 21st February, 2009

Add your review
We ate lunch at the Italian next door which is owned by the same people and it was fantastic - good value, good food, good service and good surroundings. We then ate at EE-Usk that evening. On special were langoustine with garlic butter, which my husband ate as a starter with monk fish as a main. I had smoked haddock & mash 'pot' starter and Halibut with leek mornay as main. My husband had Pinot Grigio and I had sauvignon blanc. All meals were excellent quality, great service and wine was fantastic. My only critiscism would be that the monk fish came as battered 'balls' with glorified chips while I ordered the halibut & mornay expecting veg only to receive glorified chips as well. At 16 approx for a main I'm sure something more imaginative (and possibly cheaper) can be served than 'chips with everything'. That said the chips were lovely and I have no complaint with anything else at all, and would even recommend that everyone eat there.

Date visited: 8th February 2009

Review by Guy on 16th February, 2009

Add your review
I also am astounded by some of these reviews, having not been in a number of months I am looking forward to the food, the service and the views and hope that any negative reviews have been 'one-offs'. I've been going to Eeusk since it was up on the main street and have never had a bad meal or anything other than great service. Having been the on my own, on business and with family and friends I have always enjoyed feeling welcome and totally satisfied at the end of the evening, and I've never had to roll my eyes at noisy babies or children running around! The chowder is worth the drive if nothing else!

Date visited: Various

Review by Jenny Moran on 1st October, 2008

Add your review
We had read some bad reviews about Eeusk and were a bit dubious about visiting but the menu looked nice and we decided to go anyway. I am happy to report that we had a lovely evening and good value for money. Oysters were gorgeous! I had the seafood pasta which was lovely and very filling and my husband had the half lobster which was on as a special. The wine and whisky prices were good and the range impressive. Looking forward to our next visit - unfortunately we are an 8 hour drive away!

Date visited: 29 September 2008

Review by Mrs G. on 29th September, 2008

Add your review
As a resident of Oban, and a reguar diner in Ee-usk I'm astounded to read those reviews. The service and quality of food, in our experience has been of very high standard. I understand the disappointment of the 'no children' rule but I see why they set such rules as not all children's behaviour can be conducive to a calm ambience. Anyway, we ate there on Saturday and it was absolutely stunnin - exellence service!

Date visited: saturday 27th sept 08

Review by Anita on 26th September, 2008

Add your review
Visited the Italian establishment this morning for coffees. A huddle of waitresses were chatting behind the bar which you have to walk past to get into the main seating area. We were asked for our order at this point and I was somewhat taken aback by the off hand attitude particularly directed at my English friend who was trying hard to swallow a toffee. Once we sat down a different waitress came to the table and accused my friend of eating her own food on the premises. My friend was totally embarrassed and explained that she did not think it illegal to swallow something which had been in her mouth before entering the restaurant. The waitress returned to the bar and a gentleman who I assume to be the proprietor then came over to the table and in an aggressive manner said that he had no intention of serving us and would we leave right away. Never have I been so humiliated. I was appalled and wonder how much damage this establishment is doing for Scottish Tourism.

Date visited: 26th September 2008

Review by Jack Holson on 22nd June, 2008

Add your review
Bitterly dissapointing experience at this establishment, or both of the restaurants that they own. Set up to get you in and out like conveyor belts with a definite attitude of 'we are doing you a favour'

Date visited: 23/4/08

Review by Ross on 14th April, 2008

Add your review
I had heard good things about Eeusk and was looking forward to eating there with my family in the early evening of a rather blustey April.Imagine our dismay when we arrived to be told that they don't accept kids under the age of ten in the evening. Anyway after being turned away and told that there was no room at the Inn so to speak we walked some 20 or so yards to the nearby Italian only to find that it was owned by the same family and accepted children. What a fine Scots welcome to tourists and visitors alike. I wonder how long the proprietors snobbery to children can prevail and why he adopted such a policy in the first place. My children have eaten in far grander surroundings and we have never received a complaint about their behaviour.Similar establishments in Italy or France for example would be astounded at this policy.

Date visited: 10/04/2008

Review by Theresa Carruthers on 11th April, 2005

Add your review
Fabulous fresh, well cooked, well presented food at very reasonable prices. I was only there a day and half and ate twice at the restaurant. My husband was astounded at the size and quality of his oysters and I could not get enough of the smoked haddock chowder and the fried haddock. Wonderful views and waiting staff make it one not to miss if you are within driving distance.

Date visited: 1st and 2nd April

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Politics is the art of making the inevitable seem planned - Quentin Crisp
More Quotes

On this day:
Einstein Produces Theory of Relativity - 1905, Gatwick Airport Opens - 1936, D-Day Landings - 1944, Beatles audition for George Martin - 1962
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages