Powder

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

January 2020: Get Fit on the North York Moors

January is the traditional month for regretting the excesses of December and promising yourself and others that this year you are definitely going ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Powder Mills Hotel, Battle

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by A Nelson on 5th August, 2010

Add your review
Went to check out hotel for wedding business... went for lunch as advertised on their website - arrived at 2pm (menu offered until 6pm) to be told chef had gone home and we could only have a sandwich. Service almost non-existent, had to find someone in the main hotel(a chambermaid) to pay, and no table service at all. Charming hotel but felt like an OAP home more than a hotel. Needless to say won't be using.

Date visited: 03/08/2010

Review by philip on 1st November, 2009

Add your review
Good Points: friendly staff, especially the maitre d' in the evening of the 28th & the breakfast waiter ( the eldely chap ), please compliment them. Pleasent walk around the lake each day after breakfast. General review: Pleasent surroundings, surprisingly quiet where our room was, next time might try a room in the hotel itself. The hotel had been recommended and even though there were minor complaints all in all it was a restful stay.

Date visited: 2009-11-01

Review by Sara on 11th May, 2009

Add your review
Good Points: Overall the hotel was very good, the grounds were lovely and there was plenty to see. Food was very good and staff were very friendly/ helpful. Bad Points: They had a problem with the boiler, subsequently we had no hot water, however, they did their very best to resolve the situation, even calling the maintence officer from off-duty to fix the problem. We were upgraded to another room for the in-convenience, however, the hot water had affected the whole hotel. We did get hot water within 3 hours though. General review: Very peaceful, good location, very picturesque, lovely walking area round the lakes and in the woods.

Date visited: 2009-05-11

Review by Sara on 11th May, 2009

Add your review
Good Points: Overall the hotel was very good, the grounds were lovely and there was plenty to see. Food was very good and staff were very friendly/ helpful. Bad Points: They had a problem with the boiler, subsequently we had no hot water, however, they did their very best to resolve the situation, even calling the maintence officer from off-duty to fix the problem. We were upgraded to another room for the in-convenience, however, the hot water had affected the whole hotel. We did get hot water within 3 hours though.General review: Very peaceful, good location, very picturesque, lovely walking area round the lakes and in the woods.

Date visited: 2009-05-11

Review by Anonymous on 20th February, 2008

Add your review
Good Points: The room was a good size.Very clean and comfortable. Bad Points: There was nothing we disliked about our accomodation. General review: The hotel and grounds were lovely.My husband and I chose this hotel for a relaxing break,and we are glad that we did.We found the staff very friendly and helpful.The food in the Orangery restaurant was magnificent,and the service excellent.We will certainly be returning.

Date visited: 2008-02-20

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
I found longer races boring. I found the mile just perfect. - Roger Bannister
More Quotes

On this day:
The Bank of England becomes Insolvent - 1797, First 1 Note Issued - 1797, First Grand National - 1839, Heroic HMS Birkenhead Sinks - 1852, Churchill Announces British Atom Bomb - 1952, Shelton Hospital Fire - 1968, Barings Bank Collapses - 1995
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages